Time Warp

19 December 2011 | Seattle, Washington
19 November 2011 | Seattle, WA
28 September 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
05 August 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
01 August 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
23 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina, Oak Harbor, WA
18 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina
15 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina
10 July 2011 | 350 nm off Cape Flattery
07 July 2011 | Somewhere out in the Big Pond
01 July 2011 | 37N; 153W
01 July 2011 | 36N; 155W
28 June 2011 | 29N; 157W
25 June 2011 | Poor Boyz Yacht Club, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Honolulu
22 June 2011 | Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Honolulu, Hawaii
21 June 2011 | Lahaina, Maui
11 June 2011 | 20.5N; 151W
11 June 2011 | 18.5N; 148W
11 June 2011 | 18.5N; 144W

OK, so maybe it wasn't the last blog!!

28 September 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
Peter
Fooled ya!!! OK, fooled me too!

I have been thinking of getting back on and doing some blogging. I have gotten a few requests as well, that has generated more thoughts. So maybe I will add some posts...just not as often as before.

Let's see, what has happened? Well, the biggest part of transitioning has trying to figure out what I want to be when (if) I grow up!!!

We thought about doing the crewed charter thing. Indeed, I think it was right here on this blog I was raving about THE new crewed charter company. Something about pushing Moorings/Sunsail aside, or something of that nature! That was a swell idea for awhile because it gave me something to work on which meant I had less time for getting in trouble!

But then I ran into several roadblocks, not the least of which is that you can't make any money in the crewed charter trade; at least not in the 3-week season the Pacific Northwest offers. So I kinda ditched that idea.

And for about a week or so I was in this purgatory. I was excited in that it meant I had options. The problem was I had too many options! I didn't know what direction to take with my life. And then it hit.

I had been told by Laura and others that I should become a property manager. After all, I have been managing properties for over 25 years. But my idea of a property manager was some (cute) girl (which I am not!) sitting in a leasing office of a large complex making 40 grand a year. That wasn't very inspirational. Well, the cute girl part was, but that wasn't going to make me any money!!

Anyway, I finally stumbled upon the idea that I could ' own a property management firm'. Ooooh! Pretty advanced thinking, huh? That is why they call me 'Captain'! It only took me a few months to get that message!

The more I researched it, the more I liked the idea. I kept telling people about the charter business that I think I like 'growing' business more than I like actually 'doing' business. Don't get me wrong. I can -- and will -- roll up my sleeves and get in there and do the work. But on a long-term basis, I am much better suited for the growing part. Owning a business lets me do just that!

So Ruth and I (and Will -- who turns 15 today!!!) are starting up a new business. We are calling it Full Service Property Management. I'll talk about it more in the coming weeks. We are pretty excited about it because I think the business model I have developed could possibly reinvent the entire industry!

Pretty heady stuff, eh? I don't know that our biz will do all of that. But it will certainly carve out a HUGE niche. But more of that later!!!
Comments
Vessel Name: Time Warp
Vessel Make/Model: Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 45.2
Hailing Port: Seattle, WA
Crew: Peter, Ruth & Will
About:
Seattle-based crew out for 3-4 years. We'll start in the Med in Spring, 2009, visit the Caribbean, Panama Canal, So. Pacific, and eventually end up in Oz. After that? Who knows! Peter is an avid sailor and world-class racer. Ruth is learning to sail, and Will is a very good youth sailor. [...]

Who: Peter, Ruth & Will
Port: Seattle, WA