Time Warp

19 December 2011 | Seattle, Washington
19 November 2011 | Seattle, WA
28 September 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
05 August 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
01 August 2011 | Oak Harbor, WA
23 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina, Oak Harbor, WA
18 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina
15 July 2011 | Oak Harbor Marina
10 July 2011 | 350 nm off Cape Flattery
07 July 2011 | Somewhere out in the Big Pond
01 July 2011 | 37N; 153W
01 July 2011 | 36N; 155W
28 June 2011 | 29N; 157W
25 June 2011 | Poor Boyz Yacht Club, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Honolulu
22 June 2011 | Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Honolulu, Hawaii
21 June 2011 | Lahaina, Maui
11 June 2011 | 20.5N; 151W
11 June 2011 | 18.5N; 148W
11 June 2011 | 18.5N; 144W

The Build Up

10 December 2008 | New England Boatworks, Portsmouth, RI
The boat is starting to get put back together and look like a boat! I think the excitement will start to build. Up to now it has been a grind of long days. I thought December was supposed to have short days! When the sun goes down, I go back to the hotel and work on managing stuff to make the next day be as efficient as possible.

I came in here "rich" and out-sourcing work. After a day or two of that I realized how out of control the budget would be! Now I am bringing stuff "in house". It is gonna be a busy spring putting systems into the boat. The big items include: replacing the forward water tank; painting the bottom; installing the single sideband radio & modem; ditto with the 1200W inverter, and more.

This living out of a hotel gets old fast. I don't know how those traveling sailsmen (sic) do it! The hotel is OK. They rent it for $189/nite in the summer! Trust me -- it ain't that fancy. And eating out of restaurants? Not bad on occasion. But waay overrated for every day use!

Today was a pretty good day. Got the masthead tricolor installed and one of the other running lights. Installed 4 new AGM batteries and got a 2nd coat on the brand new rudder. New England Boatworks is one awesome boatyard. They have EVERYTHING! The place covers 10+ acres. There are tons of BIG boats on the hard. You can't believe the money floating around this place. Today NEB got the rebuilt starter installed as well as the upper rudder bearing (which is a real bear to get to).

We are looking for a different hub for the MaxProp. Once we locate that, they will slip the shaft and prop back on the boat. At that point, splash time is imminent. Current estimate is early next week. But I am hoping we can find a hub in time for a Friday splash. I am going to be running out of things to do soon and may even relax a bit over the weekend. But once we splash, the hammer comes down again and it's back to work.

Even though this is more work than I would wish on anybody, when we are done I hope to have a boat where I spent market value money, but most everything is brand new.

Once the boat gets splashed, the mast has to go back in. They'll hook up the backstay that has been refitted with a SSB antennae. Then I got to put the inside of the boat back together and test systems before taking the boat out for a little test. Not sure I'll singlehand sail the boat right out of the gate, but finding a windless day and running the motor a bit wouldn't be a bad thing either.

I sure am homesick. But it is less so than last week, so I know I/we will make the adjustment when we do the final goodbye.

This is quite a project...quite a dream. I have the good Lord to thank for putting such wonderful people in my life to help this big ole dream become reality. I'm still in "pinch mode" cuz at times I don't believe it is really happening.
Comments
Vessel Name: Time Warp
Vessel Make/Model: Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 45.2
Hailing Port: Seattle, WA
Crew: Peter, Ruth & Will
About:
Seattle-based crew out for 3-4 years. We'll start in the Med in Spring, 2009, visit the Caribbean, Panama Canal, So. Pacific, and eventually end up in Oz. After that? Who knows! Peter is an avid sailor and world-class racer. Ruth is learning to sail, and Will is a very good youth sailor. [...]

Who: Peter, Ruth & Will
Port: Seattle, WA