The story of Topaz Rival

Sailing adventures of one man and his dog. Please feel free to leave a comment!

More Brexit nonsense

No quotas and tariffs may be the Brexit deal done by Boris and co. But the UK is out of the single market and customs union and that means charges where they didn’t exist last year. Take the nice new harness and lead for Buzz. Already at the gold plated end of doggie accessories these cost £59.99 plus £13.50 delivery (Europe 3-7 days) from the UK supplier I’ve used before. But nearly six weeks, not six days, after dispatch I get a letter from the Portuguese post office telling me that the package is in Lisbon and I have to fill out a custom form online. Luckily I’ve been brushing up my Portuguese and was able to fill in the details and upload a copy of the invoice. Two days later I get a demand for a €21 customs charge and a €12 handling fee. I couldn’t get the electronic payment options to work which meant another €6.50 for cash on delivery. So that’s €39.50 (£34.26) or approximately a fee of 60 percent on the original goods. Thanks Boris, now I know what taking back control really means! Gives you an idea of the problems that hundreds of small companies are having to face. Bloody Brexit.

Comments




Previous | List | Random | Next