The story of Topaz Rival

Sailing adventures of one man and his dog. Please feel free to leave a comment!

The advantages of a good bicycle

The humble bicycle has been a part of my life since I discovered the freedom it gave aged around eight years old. I cycled to school in Suffolk and a bike got me around all those years in London. It then gave me a new career making cycle maps. Now the trips are usually shorter and mostly purely functional - picking up groceries and other bits and pieces. I only have room on board for one bicycle so it has to be the folding Brompton. This one is about 14-years-old and has been on a couple of transatlantic sailing trips. Before that it was used around British cities finding those elusive routes that can make urban cycling such fun. Equipped with the front pannier and rear luggage rack it can accommodate a surprisingly large amount of goodies. I have attempted to “marinise” the fittings as much as possible to combat the inevitable attack from the salt water all around. And I still like riding around as much as I did those 60 years ago.

Comments




Previous | List | Random | Next