The story of Topaz Rival

Sailing adventures of one man and his dog. Please feel free to leave a comment!

Today’s super hero

Here is Mateus, who saved me from a very expensive mistake today by diving to the bottom of the Culatra anchorage and retrieving the Torqeedo outboard. How did this happen you may ask? Well it was a much windier and bumpier night than forecast and I neglected to take the engine from the dinghy’s transom. The up and down of the waves must have eventually dislodged it and under it went - to my horror when I woke to take Buzz for his daily morning walk. However, I rowed over to Mateus’ boat after I saw he was awake around 8 am and asked if he knew anyone in the anchorage with diving equipment. The answer was no, but he had a wet suit, flippers and a mask and was willing to give it a go! After 10 minutes and 10 or so dives he found it - thanks also to the track from the anchor alarm, which helped pinpoint the rough area to look. After bringing it to the surface, I clipped it back on the dinghy and hey presto it worked! Nice thing about electric outboards, they don’t mind getting wet. All I can say is a big thank you to Mateus and his partner, both Brazilians taking a Moody 40 home from Lagos to Ireland where they are living and using their PhD level computer skills. Amazing!

Comments




Previous | List | Random | Next