Torea's travels

20 December 2023
20 December 2023
20 December 2023
20 December 2023
20 December 2023
20 December 2023
23 November 2023
23 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
02 November 2023
29 October 2023
29 October 2023

Brian's Corner to Prosser Bay, 02.01.2023

02 January 2023
Stephen and Kristina Hall
Today we left Brian's Corner since the weather forecast predicted a change from northeast to southwest and it wouldn't give us good shelter.
Steve had spent a great part of the night on the bunk, as the wind speed had increased to 30 plus knots and he wanted to be alert in case the anchor alarm would go off. All I could hear though was snoring from the bunk. The morning was very calm though and I thought it was a shame to be unable to get ashore for a walk on the white sand beach.
It was a good decision, I have to admit - whilst sailing to Orford, Prosser Bay, the wind picked up to a maximum of 31.4 knots. After about 5 hours of sailing we arrived in Prosser Bay and hoped to call it a day. But then the clouds foretold a change and we pulled the anchor to get away from the shore. Soon enough heavy rains passed through, acquainted by a few hail stones. But it remained fairly warm and both of us enjoyed the rain - and therefore gave our waterproofs a good wash. It was also good for Torea to get rid of all the salt water.
It was a lazy afternoon; having eventually reception again, we had a closer look to the forecast and made plans for the following days.

I want to state here my gratitude: I would have not been here without my friend and ex-colleague in Berlin, who invited me on their sailing boat, Quetzal. But all the more I want to thank my family and my friends in Germany for all their support and appreciation, especially my dad and Doris, my sister and my close friends Jörg and Carola. Although I never doubt my decision for a second, I do miss all of them terribly at times
I don't take it for granted, instead I count my blessings every day.

Photo taken at Brian's Corner, 01.01.2023
Comments
Vessel Name: Torea
Vessel Make/Model: Bill Couldrey
Hailing Port: New Zealand
Crew: Steve Hall and Kristina Herzogenrath
Extra: Torea was launched in 1966 as an offshore racing yacht. She was designed by Bill Couldrey and built by Keith Atkinson in triple diagonal kauri. Torea competed and finished in the 1969 Sydney Hobart race.

Who: Steve Hall and Kristina Herzogenrath
Port: New Zealand