Tumultuous Uproar

A cruising boat with a racing problem...

16 April 2024
09 March 2024
29 February 2024
29 February 2024 | Anse Cochon, St. Lucia
22 February 2024
03 February 2024
31 January 2024
21 January 2024
21 January 2024
28 December 2023
04 December 2023
27 November 2023
27 October 2023
27 September 2023
30 May 2023

Tale of two days, alone

02 February 2022
Russ Whitford
Lasts week I said goodby to two of my best friends. Lance has been my friend since third grade through high school and beyond. Lance and Laura have a condo in Fort Lauderdale by the Sea, just to entertain friends and family. I was able to anchor about three miles south on the Intercoastal Waterway and visit them by dinghy over the two weeks I was anchored there. We always have great times together.

My best friend from college, room mate, fraterrnity brother and beyond, Larry, came to spend a week with me on Uproar. Larry sailed with me in Milwaukee and Grenada. We never moved Uproar from the Sunrise Bay anchorage. Instead, we toured Ft Lauderdale by dinghy and made it a mission to visit as many craft breweries as possible. We visited five and two of them twice, dinghying back to Uproar in the dark.

We went to Lance's and Laura's one night. Lance and Larry were groomsmen in my wedding (first) in 1976 and hadn't seen each other since. That was a fun night.

Then I said goodbye to both and sailed to Miami. Yesterday, I moved to an anchorage adjacent to Miami Beach. Florida makes it difficult for cruisers to visit. Seems rich people don't like looking at sailboats anchored in front of their multi-million dollar houses. But the water is free. At least it was until Florida passed laws allowing for local ordinances to restrict anchoring.

Day One

I did find a spot just north of Belle Island on the Venetian Causeway, just west of Miami Beach. This is a small spot crowded with boats. I found a small hole and dropped my anchor in a postage stamp sized spot. All morning I watched Uproar swing about in the shifting winds. I had to pull up some anchor chain but was clear of my neighbors....barely.

The reason for anchoring here is that my daughters, Liz and Kelsey are visiting this coming weekend. I wanted to be close to South Beach to show them a good time. I am close to South Beach but getting ashore is another problem. There is a park and beautiful dock on land. It has a sign, “Non-motorized boats only.” WTF, that dock could handle 50 dinghies or more. Then I saw a sign from the park saying there is an advisory not to have contact with the water. The gate to that magnificent dock was locked! Since no kayaks are allowed, why not allow our dinghies in this brand new facility?

There is a boat ramp with two crummy docks. It's sign reads, “Motorized boats only” “Twenty minute docking limit.” OK, there is a canal on the other side of the causeway. I dinghied up that canal only to see signs, “No mooring, tow away zone!” They clearly don't want us here.

One reason is that most of the boats in the anchorage are not cruisers. I call them the floating homeless. Many of these boats are in disrepair and an eyesore. That's my new neighborhood. I have sympathies for people who need to live somewhere and are pretty short on cash. But the trash on these boats and tied to them in the water is disgusting.

Here I am, thinking I had found a great spot to show Miami Beach to my daughters. Seemed pretty bleak. That evening, I talked with Jeff, friend of Lance's who lives on his boat near Miami Yacht Club. He gave me some ideas where to dinghy ashore and places to visit. But I still went to bed very disappointed in my introduction to Miami Beach.

Day Two

I decided to up anchor and move to a more open spot on the other side of the Venetian Causeway. This looked more like a cruiser anchorage and for a fee, a marina would allow landing of dinghies.

Wind was pretty strong in the early morning as I was waking up. Thoughts of the difficulty I would have pulling anchor alone, in this tiny spot gave me doubts. I also worried that I may have snagged old mooring lines, always a risk in crowded anchorages. These negative thoughts were dismissed. I do this stuff all the time. I started the engine and timed it so I could make the 8:30 Venetian Causeway East opening. This would also be high tide which I really need to get around in shallow Florida waters.

I was pretty proud of my anchoring job in this tight spot. Anchor came up easily and I was off to the bridge. My call on channel 9 for an opening was answered by the Venetian Causeway Bridge West, “Venetian East is out of operation.” Crap, I had to head back to Belle Island. Could I hit the same, anchor spot? No way, I anchored on the fringe of the anchorage. Today is February 2 and it feels like Groundhog Day. I sighed, perhaps this will start to feel like home.

Being a nomad, I latch on to feelings of home wherever I can find it.

I decided to go to the 20 minute dock and to hell with it. I had an appointment at Massage Envy, Christmas gift from Logan. Another cruiser at the dock said there was no problem staying there longer. I walked to Massage Envy and filled out the lengthy questionnaire. I had a great massage from David! He even had me keep the rest of the aroma-therapy bottle.

I walked along the Lincoln Road mall with my post-massage glow perusing the cafes. I decided to once again try a Paella. I had them in Spain and thought I just hadn't gotten the right one. None of them were remarkable. Well this one wasn't either. But the glass of Tempranillo was great. I sat for a long time watching people. The table next to me had a family with five young girls who were in constant motion. I caught dad's eye and told him how delightful his girls were.

It was a beautiful day, nice spot and friendly people. But I felt lonely once again. When the server brought the check, she brought another glass of Tempranillo, “On the house.” How did she know I was feeling a bit low.

I think I like it here. I'm not alone. Can't wait for Liz and Kelsey to come this weekend. This will be a fun spot. And Lisa comes the following week. I miss her. I can't wait to resume our cruising.....not in Florida!
Comments
Vessel Name: Tumultuous Uproar
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 42s7
Hailing Port: Milwaukee, WI
Crew: Popeye (Russ Whitford)
Social:
Tumultuous Uproar's Photos - Main
45 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
68 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
61 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
24 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
53 Photos
Created 7 March 2016
No Photos
Created 7 March 2016
4 Photos
Created 28 August 2015
2 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
Uproar FULL ON in the North Channel! Picture by Rick Pask.
1 Photo
Created 21 August 2015
40 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
8/15/15
29 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
9 Photos
Created 21 August 2015