Tumultuous Uproar

A cruising boat with a racing problem...

16 April 2024
09 March 2024
29 February 2024
29 February 2024 | Anse Cochon, St. Lucia
22 February 2024
03 February 2024
31 January 2024
21 January 2024
21 January 2024
28 December 2023
04 December 2023
27 November 2023
27 October 2023
27 September 2023
30 May 2023

We're back

14 November 2022
Russ Whitford
Tears rolling down my cheek compel me to write. Lisa and I used to live full time on Uproar. It was fairly easy. We knew where home was and lived it and loved it.

I was a bit wary about being a “snow bird.” Summers in WI and winters in the Caribbean. It involved turning our lives upside down, once and again every year. But summer in WI was such a delight.

Moto friend Mark asked, “Russ, you have sailed and traveled much of the world. What do you still feel about Wisconsin?” The answer came easily. Wisconsin is one of the most beautiful places I have lived. Add to that family and friends, it is home. Such a pat answer. But really, Wisconsin has one of the most beautiful landscapes, parks and countrysides. What’s not to like. OK, winter! Even winter was fun when I raced my old Ducati on the ice. But long, wet, cold springs……

Tonight, is our third night in Carriacou. Carriacou is a small island north of Grenada, part of Grenada. Lisa and I landed her in 2016. Within a week, we knew 40 cruisers in the anchorage and many became life-long friends. We sailed here in May, 2022. Pulled Uproar into the Carriacou Boat Yard and headed back to our WI, River Retreat.

Now again, we have a transition from familiar life, friends and family, back to the floating homeless. It is a bit daunting. We hauled 200 pounds of boat parts, supplies and a new puppy back to Uproar. I’m happy to report Uproar looks in fine shape after our absence. OK, the bilge pump quit. I’ll fix up something.

What really hits me is how much this too is home. People here in Tyrrel Bay still remember us and call us by name. The tropical heat is a bit daunting but after three days, we are sure we can adapt once again. Just take it slow and easy.

This evening, Lisa and I decided to prolong our evening a bit and go to Iguana’s for a cocktail. I asked Kaylin for a pirate strength rum punch. I’ve got the pirate look but insist, “pas dangerous.” Not dangerous! She gave me a wink and understood. Lisa started out with water, then graduated to a Cosmo.

They had country music playing on the screen. OK, on Uproar, we are quite new to that genre. In fact, on our play list, we resist country. Instead, we have a play list, “rural.”

Kaylin put on reggae for us. Started out with “Three Little Birds.” We all sang along. Then came “Redemption Song.” That’s when my tears started to flow. I have left Babylon and am now in Zion. Life is different here. The transition that I thought would be so difficult has now become a true part of me. Kaylin was taken aback by my tears. Lisa said, “We should go.”

No way.

“He who feels it knows it.” Bob Marley

My Zen master, John told me, “ Don’t try, just feel.” He so delighted in the difficulty I would have transitioning from my engineer brain to my true self.

Carraicou, thank you for tipping me back to my true self.
Comments
Vessel Name: Tumultuous Uproar
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 42s7
Hailing Port: Milwaukee, WI
Crew: Popeye (Russ Whitford)
Social:
Tumultuous Uproar's Photos - Main
45 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
68 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
61 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
24 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
53 Photos
Created 7 March 2016
No Photos
Created 7 March 2016
4 Photos
Created 28 August 2015
2 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
Uproar FULL ON in the North Channel! Picture by Rick Pask.
1 Photo
Created 21 August 2015
40 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
8/15/15
29 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
9 Photos
Created 21 August 2015