Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

Dodging a helicopter, ships and dolphins.

20 October 2017 | Hampton, VA
Sunny and pleasant with light north wind
This swell issue happened once before. Last night the wind and water were calm. Then suddenly in the middle of the night, swells showed up, annoyingly bouncing the boat around. For maybe an hour or so. I went outside and looked. The water was glassy and there was not much wind to speak of, but the swells kept coming. Wake from a boat has a quicker frequency and wouldn’t leave the water glassy. Or last for a hour.

I learned my lesson from the other day, so this morning, while pulling up anchor, I squirted the mud off the chain before it reached the anchor locker so I wasn’t rinsing a lot of mud down the anchor locker drain. But again, the deck wash quit early. A quick trip down below fixed it. You aren’t supposed to use wire nuts on a boat because the vibration can work them loose. I have been replacing them as I go, even though none had failed ... until now. I will replace those wire nuts next.

We met Bob and Phyllis and their cat Lucy (okay, I’ve never actually met the cat) on the sailboat Gabriel at the end of the Erie Canal. Today I caught up with them as we both headed south (I could see them on AIS). Unfortunately, the best I could do was to get in touch over the radio, not in person. To get to Hampton today meant I had to push the speed and could not steer over to join them.

When my brother taught me to do 360 degree sweeps of the water for boats, he never mentioned airborne craft. I was sitting in the bow of the boat talking to my other brother on the phone, when I had to end the conversation with, “I have to go back to the cockpit now to avoid this helicopter.” Really - I had to go around him. And he kept his helicopter facing me the whole time to make sure I did.

Near Hampton, I had to watch out for several military ships and one overtaking container ship. I also suddenly came upon 6-7 dolphins. They were on both sides of me almost touching the boat and I felt like I ran right over some of them. I got out my camera hoping for pictures - you can’t get any closer to dolphins than running them over. But apparently they didn’t take too kindly to that, because they disappeared. Completely vanished. I tried to apologize, but to no avail. Let me point out, however, that they were the ones who ran in front of me. They need to look both ways.

Today was another motor. The wind was from behind, but I did get the genoa out for a few hours to help me against the current. Then the wind died, but the current had let up by then.

Tomorrow I plan to make a 40 hour trip down the coast in the Atlantic Ocean.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017