Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

48 hours ...

09 December 2017 | Historic downtown Titusville
Cloudy and cold.
Yesterday I spent some time in the nearby park enjoying the sun and warmth. I was sitting at the harbor entrance, and a couple of manatees swam out of the harbor.

Last evening I enjoyed the tree lighting and downtown stroll. The historic downtown is maybe .5 miles away. There were many small groups of performers scattered throughout the downtown, with many other folks strolling about taking advantage of the last warm weather for a bit. This afternoon was cloudy and cool - it didn't even make it to 60! The next two nights will be in the upper 30s. I chose to stay in my slip this weekend so I could run my heater.

Since I had access to shore power, I used my heat gun to heat shrink the butt connectors I had put on the other day when I removed the wire nuts. Next up was to defrost the fridge. I discovered I hadn't been doing a good job of this - I wasn't removing the ice that I couldn't see in the back of the freezer and now that had built up to the point where it was difficult to remove. More uses for the heat gun. Then I noticed one of the screws holding the freezer needed to be tightened. That required a short screw driver which was in the tool set under a seat. When I pulled up the seat cushion, I found a puddle of coke underneath it. Oh goody - another project!

This weather reminds me of being in Waukegan on a chilly weekend near the end of April. The difference is it is warmer during the day here, and when I look out my port, I see palm trees and the prominent bird I hear is an Osprey, not a sea gull. Still, I came all this way for this?

It turns out my shore power battery charger and solar panels do not play nice together. The batteries like to float at 13.2 volts, so that is what the charger is set to. However, the solar floats at 13.8 volts and cannot be changed. This makes the shore power charger mad and it turns red and quits. So I guess I'll just have to keep them separated.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017