Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

Forging the creek to deliver our driftwood.

25 March 2018 | Warderick Wells Cay
Sunny and 75. Soft wind from behind.
No cell service here. Maybe I'€™ll buy internet tomorrow.

Lazy motor sail today with the wind behind - mostly under 10 knots. Three and a half hours later, we arrived at Warderick Wells Cay, a protected park, and picked up a mooring ball. I was told that due to draft restrictions, I shouldn’t pick up some of the balls. Roger was in his dinghy with his hand held depth sounder and picked out a ball for me. My come up was picture perfect and I walked to the bow and he handed me the pennant. His dinghy was right up against my bow and my boat was pretty much stopped. I like to savor the successes.

This afternoon we put our boat names on some driftwood Roger scavenged from one of the islands, and trekked up to Boo Boo Hill. The path of rocks is almost lava like. How anything grows in this sandy and rocky place is amazing, and there are several signs explaining how the plants are doing it. At the top of the hill is a pile of driftwood with boat names on them. Painted, or engraved, or even drilled with hundreds of shallow holes producing letters.

We went over to the blow holes, but they were dormant at this time. Maybe later when the storm comes.

After we got all the way back to the dinghy, I realized I was no longer carrying my dry sack with phone and wallet. Tari thought I put it down at Boo Boo Hill to take pictures, which was bad. I did not look forward to trekking back in my sandals. I had shoes for this type of hike, but when I really did need them, they were on the boat. I am prepared when not necessary, and not prepared when the hike I have been waiting for does finally come. The good thing about the sandals was that the middle of the hike involved walking across a wide, six inch deep creek. A sturdy water shoe would be best.

Back to what was lost - Roger and I started down the beach back to the start of the trail, when we saw a woman and some boys coming toward us, with one of the boys swinging my dry sack. Sometimes things just work out in your favor. Tari was more than a little suspicious when we told her we went back and got the dry sack, after we had only been gone a few minutes. We explained we were faster without her. She wasn’€™t sure exactly what had happened, but since she didn’t see any wings on our backs, she knew we hadn’€™t made it there and back in that short time - even without her.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017