Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

The Three Islanders

23 April 2018 | Titusville Municipal Marina
Cloudy and rainy. Some wind with the rain.
The two boats on the right, in the foreground, are the two local Islanders. My boat is the blue hulled boat on the left side of the dock, in the back.

Not much going on. It keeps threatening to rain - especially if you step out of the cabin and try to do something, then it does rain. There was a break this morning, so after my haircut (the excitement builds), I wandered around Space View Park. I have passed this park dozens of times without ever turning in and walking around. Glad I walked through it this time. Many monuments and plaques with names of folks who worked on the space program and the astronauts. Many fun facts and also special tributes to those who lost their lives in the space and shuttle program.

Last night, several of us gathered around on the dock, exchanging stories and telling tales. There are several solo sailors and many folks living on their boats. Most of the permanent resident boats here never leave their slip - sailing on the ICW isn’t really a thing. Several boats still are damaged from Hurricane Mathew. Torn off bow pulpits with wrecked bows (holes in the deck) is the common damage.

Mike and Mary live on the Islander 36 that I didn’t recognize. I felt better when they asked me what kind of boat I had. When I replied that it was an Islander, they still weren’t sure if it was an Islander 36 like theirs. There are some differences in my 1979 version versus the early 1970 versions. They have a cute small dog named Puddles. I expressed my reservations about a dog named Puddles ... was the name indicative of some type of undesirable behavior? They assured me that was not the case, but rather that was the name the dog came with from the shelter.

I’m working with Lehr on my leaking propane connection issue. So far, they are being very responsive. I guess whenever I leave the dinghy for any length of time, I should turn off the propane at the tank, like one does with a grill.

Always fun with Roger and Tari. If I were still with them, I could write about their windlass issue leading to a hard grounding needing the tide to come in to get off, snagging a crab pot, subsequent prop issue which now requires a haul out. Half the stuff that happened to them, they wouldn’t even let me write about. I’m thinking 🤔 that all that time I was with them ... they probably made my blog! Look what I could be writing about. Instead, I’m writing about getting a haircut!
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017