Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

I’m all out of solar ... Pat to the rescue, again.

10 May 2018 | Mooring ball at St Augustine
Sunny, mid 80’s
Today started out with morning, as it often does. Pat likes her coffee in the morning, but has to wait a bit for the sun to get high enough in the sky to get the solar panels going. But today things seemed a bit different, and I started the engine to charge the batteries while the inverter was used to run the electric one cup coffee maker. After coffee was made and the engine was turned off, we still weren’t getting any charging from the solar panels. The sun was low, but still, zero was the wrong answer. I assumed the wires under the panels wouldn’t suddenly go bad, and started going through the menus on the solar charge controller, which is a small pain to access - it’s location is not wonderful. Pat decided to go out and look at the wiring that I had discounted as being the issue. She found the smoking gun, literally. She found smoke coming out of a fitting, and clear plastic bubbling out, like water droplets. Holy cow, Batman! I had taped any connection that pulled apart, but this was one, solid plastic piece with three wires going in one side and one wire coming out. I hadn’t covered that with tape, it should be waterproof on its own. I cut out the defective piece, hereafter known as ‘The Wicked Witch of the West’ (... help, I’m melting ...), and replaced it with two oversized butt connectors to connect the four wires. Still to go is the heat shrinking and taping. And now, my panels put out more amperage than before. This whole trip, I saw 10, maybe 15 amps going in and felt a little cheated. I knew the panels were capable of more than that. After the change out, I was getting a steady 20 amps, with the inverter on charging something. So that means they were pumping in 21-22 amps ... and now the trip is almost over.

After that, we met my sister, Mary, for lunch. She stopped on her way to Jacksonville to visit her daughter and granddaughter. After lunch, we went to see my brother’s boat, one of the big tourist attractions here at St Augustine. With more experience, this time, we did a better job of breaking into the boatyard. The last time there, Roger built some steps to help get on the swim ladder and onto the boat. Showing off for my girlfriend and sister, I eschewed such baby steps and climbed up directly from the ground. Of course, this meant a bit of a jump back down, but that’s okay. I should be off the crutches in a week. 😉

Did I tell you I saw my solar panels pumping in 20 amps?! And I’m still wondering how I did this trip without Pat here figuring out all my problems!
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017