Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

Snow day. If I knew then what I know now …

29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
John Mahowald | Cold, windy, snow.
It has been tough to find a weekend I could spend on the boat - always some event getting in the way. So this past weekend was my time - weather be damned. And damned it was - I was swapping out my anchor and chain on the dock in a snow storm, wearing my foul weather jacket for a different kind of rain - the snowy kind. Now that my Bahama trip is over, I am updating my anchor setup: 75' feet of G4 chain instead of 60 feet of BBB; 33 pound Rocna anchor instead of a 44 pound Delta. The Rocna is the latest generation anchor (like a Mantus) and sets more quickly and holds better. The manual says to be careful drifting backward too fast when you drop the anchor, lest you damage some equipment on your boat when the anchor quickly sets and stops you abruptly. My brother found that out when he bent a heavy duty aluminum flange on his catamaran. I pull up the anchor and chain manually, so having a lighter chain and anchor matters. The 44 pound anchor was on the edge of what I can manhandle. Losing 11 pounds makes a big difference. I still intend to cruise and anchor in the Great Lakes. Rocna claims that size anchor will hold my boat in a 50 knot gale with accompanying surge in an anchorage with poor holding. We shall see.

My other update on the boat was to replace my middle solar panel with a shorter one that fits much better in that space. So now the boom is no longer in danger of hitting the solar panels, and I only gave away 45 watts of solar power, which I can afford to do - I think. Another improvement - after the fact.

Plus my new MPPT Victron solar controller is way better than what I had in the Bahamas. It comes with an app, so I can see all the data about the state of the panels and what is being delivered to the batteries. The data history is awesome. I can see how much solar was delivered every day and how much has been delivered over the life of the controller. I can also see the high and low battery voltage for each day, so I know how down the batteries got in the morning before the solar kicked in.

Assuming the weather ever breaks, I'm looking forward to the season. There will be two long solo races (Chicago-Mac and Hook Race), and one shorter solo race. Plus a few weeks cruising.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017