The Voyages of Vicki Jean

24 July 2009 | Kinsale, Ireland
23 July 2009 | 90 nm from Home
22 July 2009 | 160 nm from Home
22 July 2009 | 240 nm from Home
21 July 2009 | 339 nm from Home
20 July 2009 | 440 NM from Home
19 July 2009 | 570 NM from Home
18 July 2009 | 711nm from Kinsale
18 July 2009 | 711nm from Kinsale
16 July 2009 | 854 NM From Home
15 July 2009 | 996 nm from Kinsale
13 July 2009
10 July 2009 | Horta, Faial
08 July 2009 | Near Flores, Azores
07 July 2009 | 259 Nautical Miles and Motoring to Horta
05 July 2009 | 475nm from Horta
05 July 2009 | Mid-Atlantic
04 July 2009 | Mid-Atlantic
02 July 2009 | Mid-Atlantic
30 June 2009 | Mid-Atlantic

Clarification---One sea leg or two

18 July 2009 | 711nm from Kinsale
Ted Green
Seems that I have not been very clear about my comments of "being sick". So, in an effort to clear up what I mean with out being graphic, I will be brief. If I ramble on too long, I tend to get in trouble.

Morrey-- Sea Sick- The act of fouling the walk around deck and lots of lip curling indicating that there is eminent deck fouling ahead. Deck fouling is a product of not leaning over the toe rail too much for fear of making the rest of the crew practice MOB (man overboard) drills. I prefer to wash the deck.

Ted-- Sea Sick- The act of setting comatose trying to keep your eyes open because your brain is telling the rest of your body to shut down. This can last hours or days and is accompanied by head spinning and spinning stomach. Remarkably, there is little deck fouling and lots of lip curling.

Now the only reason that I had to address this is because Morrey seems to be concerned that I am not really sick because I am only nauseous. Seems he thinks one has to go the extra mile to prove it. All I can say is that I am not a quitter. If I thought that crossing the finish line in this would ease the pain, I would gladly be there. It is not a cruise liner so there is no wicked virus on board. I do wish there was a buffet on the Spinnaker Deck and a pool with a hot tub on the Sun Deck. Either of these Norwegian Cruise Line features would go a long way to fixing the sporadic blues I get out here on the big blue sea. I might even consider not getting sea sick.

I was talking with Morrey this morning after he made pancakes and apple and raisin compote (it is Saturday morning). We have concluded that we have not been bruised from bouncing off stuff on this leg. I said that we have our sea legs. He curled his lip and I recanted-- "well, one sea leg".

Here's to Terra Firma and the bed not spinning.

Ted
Comments
Vessel Name: Vicki Jean
Vessel Make/Model: Bayfield 40
Hailing Port: St Petersburg, Florida
Crew: Ted Green, Morrey Atkinson, David Hunnable (del. captain)

The Vicki Jean

Who: Ted Green, Morrey Atkinson, David Hunnable (del. captain)
Port: St Petersburg, Florida