The Voyages of Vicki Jean

24 July 2009 | Kinsale, Ireland
23 July 2009 | 90 nm from Home
22 July 2009 | 160 nm from Home
22 July 2009 | 240 nm from Home
21 July 2009 | 339 nm from Home
20 July 2009 | 440 NM from Home
19 July 2009 | 570 NM from Home
18 July 2009 | 711nm from Kinsale
18 July 2009 | 711nm from Kinsale
16 July 2009 | 854 NM From Home
15 July 2009 | 996 nm from Kinsale
13 July 2009
10 July 2009 | Horta, Faial
08 July 2009 | Near Flores, Azores
07 July 2009 | 259 Nautical Miles and Motoring to Horta
05 July 2009 | 475nm from Horta
05 July 2009 | Mid-Atlantic
04 July 2009 | Mid-Atlantic
02 July 2009 | Mid-Atlantic
30 June 2009 | Mid-Atlantic

Slicing Toward Kinsale

18 July 2009 | 711nm from Kinsale
Morrey Atkinson
I was told on good authority that my last blog was a bit "grim". 'tis true, I'm afraid. Today is considerably more upbeat. Ted started yesterday with EXCELLENT porridge, served while I was still in my bunk. Learning my lesson from my commentator, I kept to our traditional Friday chocolate chip cookies and pizza. The pizza is getting better and better, as I am out of 'prepared' ingredients. The crust is homemade from flour, yeast, salt, and water. The 'sauce' was fresh tomatoes diced with Italian spices and olive oil. The toppings were fresh red peppers, Azorean cheese, ham, and pepperoni. Our oven's ability to convert into a smelter at whim means a nice, crisp crust with a thick, bready base. Awesome.

We're flying along at six knots, reaching, in a perfect NE direction. How long can it last, we ask?

I also got some feedback on my philosophical musings. You have to remember that we spend a LOT of time alone, and the radar reminds us that we are in a VERY vast nothingness. With a sweep of 36 nm radius, that is THOUSANDS of square miles of EMPTY OCEAN. Can really play havoc with your sense of scale. Of course, there are occasional dolphins and shearwaters to bring it down. And the boat is cozy and comfortable. Mostly. Then two days ago a big trawler just kind of shoved its way across our path on David's watch. Not always so empty.

I've been doing a lot of reading and watching videos is my off-watch hours. I see bizarre connections there that lead to strange dreams. Three of my books are on Irish history. Please let John Kiely know that I am almost through Bew's History of Irish Politics, 1789-2006. Light reading. Then I'm through 1.5 seasons of "the Tudors", as well as the book Conor Doyle gave me, "How the Irish Saved Civilization". That's a lot of time with both Cromwell and the Pope, to be honest. I've seen heretics burned alive and traitors boiled alive, along with a great many massacres. Nightmares, anyone? My last three recorded UFC episodes seem positively quaint by comparison.

It was great catching up on all of the comments. It's nice to know that special people (and dogs!) in such places as Florida, Seattle, Ireland, and of course, Indiana are following our progress. Makes it seem a little more cozy out here. And Sheila should be back with us by month's end.

I hope everyone has or will enjoy their holidays, including Florida, Myrtle Beach, and Michigan. We all seem to be criss-crossing one another!

Fair winds...home by the weekend..?
Comments
Vessel Name: Vicki Jean
Vessel Make/Model: Bayfield 40
Hailing Port: St Petersburg, Florida
Crew: Ted Green, Morrey Atkinson, David Hunnable (del. captain)

The Vicki Jean

Who: Ted Green, Morrey Atkinson, David Hunnable (del. captain)
Port: St Petersburg, Florida