Taya's voyages after Patagonia

After Chilean "canales" from Puerto Montt to Puerto Williams in 2019, In 2020, Taya moves up the South Atlantic Coast, from Tierra Del Fuego to Baltimore.

Sunday

24 September 2017
Alan/clear skies

We're sailing wing and wing with a reef in the main. Seas are starting to run after about 12hrs of 20kts wind but they're still mostly pretty steep and so the boat is moving around. But since we're going downwind it's a chore. I got sunburned on the upper side of my right thigh and I have no idea how!
First in my long life: brute force wins (Trump paradigm? Oh no!). I try to tackle a new item everyday so today was the turn of the dvd player. Not too high on the safety list or the nav list but hey a sailor’s got to watch his flick occasionally. So obviously the thing does/t work. But the tv work. So it’s worth investigating further. It turns on but the door doesn’t open, so obviously I rip open the door (literally, I didn’t use any tool). Well there’s an inner door. So I continue on my promising groove and instead of unscrewing the cover, I rip the mofo apart as well or more exactly fold the metal cover of the whole dvd back on itself exposing the guts and its led eye (terminator like) Looks good inside(what I haven’t touched yet). But still doesn’t work; still no way to get the dvd case to open. Some negative-thought people might think “no wonder, jack ass”. But hold your mean spirited prejudice a little longer! I then rip apart the dvd case itself, revealing its bottom half where life reveals itself in the form of a red laser light which is actually on. So in a fit of complete ballsyness, I actually place my dvd on the bottom half and hit play on the remote and the thing actually works! !st try the dvd flew out because I hadn’t centered it carefully but the on the 2nd try all was fine and I played my movie (a gory war movie called a thin red line, I think). Now the dvd player looks really sad (really like the terminator whose inards are the only thing left but it is still computing.)
Comments
Vessel Name: Taya
Vessel Make/Model: Passoa 50
Hailing Port: Dover, Delaware
Crew: Alan Cresswell and Katy Clay
Extra: Katy, author posting the blog.
Social:
Taya's Photos - Main
Fall 2019 trip from Puerto Montt to Puerto WIlliam
10 Photos
Created 6 November 2019
December 2017
1 Photo
Created 27 December 2017
Prep for the Southern Ocean
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
New Zealand prep
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
3 Photos
Created 3 October 2017
3 Photos
Created 1 July 2015
2 Photos
Created 24 January 2015