Taya's voyages after Patagonia

After Chilean "canales" from Puerto Montt to Puerto Williams in 2019, In 2020, Taya moves up the South Atlantic Coast, from Tierra Del Fuego to Baltimore.

Friday morning my time 8:45 am

13 October 2017
Alan/overcast with a very low ceiling
Friday, October 13, 2017 3:34 PM

Well it's a bumpy ride! Bumpy enough that when I woke up the boat computer to write, the display had turned into portrait rather than the default landscape!!! Every few minutes a wave splashes the whole deck and ends up in the cockpit. All the hatches are closed and tightened down, the tightened down part is important otherwise water gets in.
Even so there are a few suspicious trickles when water washes over.
We're still going fast on a reach (I even saw 9 kts a few seconds ago) probably averaging about 7 kts in roughly the right direction. It's also pretty dreary out there: overcast with a very low ceiling; the same as yesterday. Yesterday late afternoon I took a second reef and rolled up the ji a bit more and if it wasn't for these cross swells that create these lumps we crash into, we'd have a smooth ride because the sea are coming in on our beam and we ride over them nicely (for the most part).
The wind is in the mid 20's with gust to 28 and the barometer keeps rising slowly so I'm hoping it'll clear up today. The gribs call for wind of 17kts... whatever!

I've been a little queasy so the fare has been simple: no dinner last night and cereals this morning...it's not exactly that I feel like barfing it's just that, you know, why tempt the fucking devil, if you don’t have to.....
[When I say] "we", it just means “the boat and I.” It probably sounds stupid but I haven't much of anybody else as far as companionship! No boats on the horizon.

I think I'll stop now, queasiness and all.... you know...
Comments
Vessel Name: Taya
Vessel Make/Model: Passoa 50
Hailing Port: Dover, Delaware
Crew: Alan Cresswell and Katy Clay
Extra: Katy, author posting the blog.
Social:
Taya's Photos - Main
Fall 2019 trip from Puerto Montt to Puerto WIlliam
10 Photos
Created 6 November 2019
December 2017
1 Photo
Created 27 December 2017
Prep for the Southern Ocean
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
New Zealand prep
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
3 Photos
Created 3 October 2017
3 Photos
Created 1 July 2015
2 Photos
Created 24 January 2015