Taya's voyages after Patagonia

After Chilean "canales" from Puerto Montt to Puerto Williams in 2019, In 2020, Taya moves up the South Atlantic Coast, from Tierra Del Fuego to Baltimore.

Sunny in the Middle of a High

28 January 2018 | 40 degrees south 140 west (the Southern Ocean)
Alan/clear skies
....We 're again in the middle of a high. So we've had head winds for 12 hrs and probably another 12 hrs of it. This resulted in a few maneuvers today but the day was mostly sunny so being on deck was nice. The wind is supposed to veer tonight and so we'll tack south and slowly curve up east as the high passes us. But starting Monday until Friday it's going to hot down here; wIndy hot, not temperature hot. Nothing too scary predicted and wind from the west all the week, so hopefully we'll start heading directly for our waypoint at 120W 42S, 950NM away from here; since the forecast is for winds in the 30 kt range all that time, it'll be interesting to see what kind of seas this week worth of wind kicks up in the Southern Ocean. It'll will no doubt be a good intro to the SO swells. After that waypoint we'll start our 2000NM descent to the Horn at 60W and 56S.

I am probably going to lose the Seafarers net by the time I reach 120W and I should remember to ask Peter if he knows some other ham or net that I could contact after that.

I sent an email to Katadyn, the makers of the watermaker and told them I would try anything to make their piece of junk work. But of course I wrote it Friday night so I won't get any answer before Monday.

Send some news. Where are you in Naomi Klein's book? That woman has exactly the same views I have, except she's really good at expressing them! I'm a 90% behind her. The 10% is not there because I think she looks at some stuff in too much a black and white way. Which is why I'd like the book to be more quantitative. And I also think she might overlook stuff. But she has a well articulated and coherent view of the situation and makes interesting links. And I also learned a lot. Not done though.... I'm on p165.

....This is going to be a long crossing. Can't you just fly here and get dropped on the boat for a few days so we can catch up?
Comments
Vessel Name: Taya
Vessel Make/Model: Passoa 50
Hailing Port: Dover, Delaware
Crew: Alan Cresswell and Katy Clay
Extra: Katy, author posting the blog.
Social:
Taya's Photos - Main
Fall 2019 trip from Puerto Montt to Puerto WIlliam
10 Photos
Created 6 November 2019
December 2017
1 Photo
Created 27 December 2017
Prep for the Southern Ocean
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
New Zealand prep
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
3 Photos
Created 3 October 2017
3 Photos
Created 1 July 2015
2 Photos
Created 24 January 2015