Taya's voyages after Patagonia

After Chilean "canales" from Puerto Montt to Puerto Williams in 2019, In 2020, Taya moves up the South Atlantic Coast, from Tierra Del Fuego to Baltimore.

THursday February 1

01 February 2018 | Roaring 40s in the Southern Ocean
Alan (Katy editor)
It's 7:30 am here> Did I tell you we got in a new time zone a couple days ago? We're at GMT-8 now. Which is West Coast time.

It's now 3:30pm local. I am having a hard time sitting down at the computer. Last night was pretty mellow but the wind pickup up before lunch to day so we tucked in the 3rd reef again. The main is like a small handkerchief with the 3rd reef in. The jib is rolled to the staysail size poled out on the other side and we're heading SE with a wind of 26kts gusting to 32. Actually we probably should roll the jib a bit more yet because the wind vane has a hard time keeping the boat from heading up when the quartering seas catch us. We're getting used to rocking and rolling and our gym routine this morning was as funny as usual!

Now it's 4:30pm and we did roll up the jib more, slowing down to 6.5-7 with 8 kts down the bigger waves (about 15ft now). Easier job for the wind vane.

I have been scraping mold off the smoked ham (~prosciutto) and the various salamis. I think that the yogurt is trying to think about acquiring a non yogurt taste but so far with little success since it is in the fridge. So my granola -yogurt -apple breakfast is still de rigueur, The watermaker tech suggested a couple things to do but in that weather it would be no fun... so I wait.

I am nailing Long Black Veil (in its coffin that is, ,,, the way I'm butchering that song) and probably I am making a little progress since I play guitar about 1/2 hr to an hr a day, and that's only progress in hitting the correct notes with my voice (the rest -rhythm and guitar playing is just as atrocious as usual).

Get Amber to read Naomi Klein when she ... [recovers from] the state of the union! she'll love it I'm sure.

Thanks for the word and chords to Imagine but I don't have the song on board asnd thus hard to sing from just memory of the tune. I'll try. When are you playing it again?
Comments
Vessel Name: Taya
Vessel Make/Model: Passoa 50
Hailing Port: Dover, Delaware
Crew: Alan Cresswell and Katy Clay
Extra: Katy, author posting the blog.
Social:
Taya's Photos - Main
Fall 2019 trip from Puerto Montt to Puerto WIlliam
10 Photos
Created 6 November 2019
December 2017
1 Photo
Created 27 December 2017
Prep for the Southern Ocean
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
New Zealand prep
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
3 Photos
Created 3 October 2017
3 Photos
Created 1 July 2015
2 Photos
Created 24 January 2015