Taya's voyages after Patagonia

After Chilean "canales" from Puerto Montt to Puerto Williams in 2019, In 2020, Taya moves up the South Atlantic Coast, from Tierra Del Fuego to Baltimore.

Exchange on Wednesday 4:30 pm

14 February 2018 | The Southern Ocean
Katy and Alan
[I wrote Alan:Glad you can get to that 41, but further north would be even better. The European model today shows 47 mph winds there between 6 and 7 am on Friday, but the US model shows 44 mph.
You'll have to let me know how the drogue works. Don't want to get it tangled in the rudder....` I will concentrate on the gris gris and the power of the drogue to minimize the forces on the remaining rudder and keep your ass facing the swells. They are coming from the west like the wind. So your butt will be to the wind? What kind of sails do you have up? I will limit my ventures into imagining these scenarios. Rest now and be strong! Give Janneke my best! I will listen up tonight on the Pac Sea Net. Alan wrote:]

No sails, going downwind with the drogue holding us at a couple knots in theory. I took up the wind vane so it's out of the way. And I'll be careful about not fouling the rudder; one of the reasons I want to deploy it early.

We just had a tea and a cookie. All is well.

Comments
Vessel Name: Taya
Vessel Make/Model: Passoa 50
Hailing Port: Dover, Delaware
Crew: Alan Cresswell and Katy Clay
Extra: Katy, author posting the blog.
Social:
Taya's Photos - Main
Fall 2019 trip from Puerto Montt to Puerto WIlliam
10 Photos
Created 6 November 2019
December 2017
1 Photo
Created 27 December 2017
Prep for the Southern Ocean
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
New Zealand prep
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
3 Photos
Created 3 October 2017
3 Photos
Created 1 July 2015
2 Photos
Created 24 January 2015