Livin the Dream!!

25 March 2024
19 March 2024 | Tenacatita
13 March 2024
13 March 2024
03 March 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024 | day 2
13 February 2024 | LaCruz Marina
01 February 2024
01 February 2024 | San Juanico
25 January 2024
20 January 2024 | San Quintin (no not the prison!)
16 January 2024 | ensenada
13 January 2024
29 November 2023 | Back at Das Boat!

BOOBIES!!!!

14 December 2009 | enroute, Cabo to PV
Captn Lawnboy
Got your attention didn't I guys?!?? We'll get to the boobies in a second. So, this morning I got up early to catch the earlybird net for weather at 615am. Now, crazy Don says its gonna get really ugly, and second net Jerry the weather guy says maybe 20 max....so I left. Did a slow circle around "Jimmie Dean & Kim's boat "Doin it" they were in cockpit waving and big white toothed smiles and tanned faces....god they make me sick!...we said our goodbye's and promised to stay in contact viaSSB when we could. Then circled the other folks on a 52 foot something beautiful...pearson I think, forgot their names, waved and said see ya in PV. I'm now out of sight of land once again in rolling seas with little wind, motoring. Wind waves and swells are picking up so will roll out the headsail soon I hope...wud be nice to calm down some of this rolling.

About an hour ago I went below to make a sandwich. Came up to cockpit now covered with sun awning (it's getting hotter - 85 now!) everything is hot to the touch, fibergalss, metals, cups, water bottle you name it. I've got on spf 50 baby!...ok back to sandwich...I plop down in my spot next to the chartplotter and take a big bite...look out forward and "WHAT THE.....?" Two BOOBIES!!! sorry guys, the blue footed variety. These dudes were pooped. I thought It was cute to watch them preening and fluffing their feathers, being a good steward of the seas...allowing the hitch-hikers a little reprieve from the sea. Then, one of em let's of the biggest CRAP you've ever seen in your life...right on my bowsrprit and rail. Not 10 seconds later, PFFFT..another one!...alright these once cute and cuddly winged cherubs are now gonna be asked to leave. I went forward and took some pic's of them...like really close, they could care less. I yelled, swung at them all they did was CLACK CLACK CLACK with their long beaks at me and went back to preening. HAH! I'll show em...got my air horn and blasted it 2' form them....they must be deaf. Alright, game on....I got my boat hook, extended it out and started batting at them...they held on so tight that one of them swung upside down and still held on! Seriously! I finally got ticked and smacked one of them, finally they took off.

Ha HaH!!!! that'll show em! the damned things just kept circling the boat and making passes at the bow. So I ran back up there (In my underwear again) and spread my feet way apart on the foredeck, left arm kicked back and up at a 90 degree angle...hand straight up in the air...pole in front like a sword...time to fence. I'm yelling at the top of my lungs...."UNGUARD" swinging the pole at them as they practice their touch & go's on my bow. One time I nailed tommy (the one with the two toned organic matter issue) he took a dive straight to the pacific, shook it off and was airborne again in seconds. It was a fight to the finish. So here I am in pitching seas, playing Zorro with damned sea birds in the middle of the sea...What a bonehead!

They finally got tired of me and flew off. I put away my quiver of weapons and went back to reading. Just checked the SSB radio for some talk and came back up on deck.....Those son's a bitches are back on my bow! I give up. It's all about Karma man....this one I'll let go for now-

Can't wait to get internet so I can upload some of these pictures for your enjoyment.

UPDATE!! just before sending this out, NOW THERE'S THREE!!!!!

---------- radio email processed by SailMail for information see: http://www.sailmail.com
Comments
Vessel Name: wades aweigh
Vessel Make/Model: 1974 Irwin 37
Hailing Port: anacortes, wa
Crew: Captain Lawnboy!
About: Me? well, retired pseudo landscaper turned worldsailor and adventure junkieā€¦.chasing new horizons one ocean at a time
Extra: I bought the boat from mom & dad in 1999 and have been restoring her to current glory ever since. It's a work in progress. This blog is an accounting of my travels raw and uncut.
wades aweigh's Photos - Main
20 Photos
Created 3 March 2024
misc pics of the trip so far!!!
68 Photos
Created 27 December 2010
misc stuff
No Photos
Created 26 December 2009
From Everett to San Diego in 2 weeks
6 Photos
Created 23 September 2009
Thanks for taking time to look up my blog! You are now on board with the COOLEST dream EVER!!