Livin the Dream!!

25 March 2024
19 March 2024 | Tenacatita
13 March 2024
13 March 2024
03 March 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024 | day 2
13 February 2024 | LaCruz Marina
01 February 2024
01 February 2024 | San Juanico
25 January 2024
20 January 2024 | San Quintin (no not the prison!)
16 January 2024 | ensenada
13 January 2024
29 November 2023 | Back at Das Boat!

Perfume and CURLS!!

27 December 2010 | Melaque
A happy Pelon!!
12-27-2101....Melaque, MX. It is 450pm my time and we are in and internet café here in town...and yes at long last my friends..some (only few due to snails pace internet)pics are now up on the site and in a new gallery called Mexico 2010/2011...check em out!

It has been a whirlwind of sleeping in, reading books, swimming at the pool at Las Hadas, provisioning trips to town at the large grocery called "Soriana's" and other outings for cold beer, endless shops to gaze at and many "NO GRACIAS" replies to vendors, everyone here is hungry, very hungry. Tourism is down, shops closing right and left and empty bars. The anchorages are too pretty empty. The one we are in now at Melaque is only 3 boats full including us....has there been some EMP detonated in the atmosphere rendering all travelers defunct? It is awesome for those of us Jones'n for peace and quiet nonetheless.

As one day melds into another here in paradise, it's good to have curls and perfume on the boat! Every time my beautiful woman passes me I get a whiff of something yummy albeit lotions or potions or just something simple like hair spray....yes, Sunny even curls her hair down here! I bought her a butane curling iron and some extra gas cylinders, no blow drier needed in this hot climate! Amazing how she can look so good afloat with no utilities!.....I will admit though, both I and she are enjoying my new technique of washing and conditioning her hair every time we shower in the cockpit...you know, water conservation J

Our lives consist on freshly made guacamole, fresh salsa with black beans spread on killer local flour tortillas or simply just dipped with chips. Lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, very healthy diet for sure. I've already lost some inches as my shorts are loose and shirts actually fit like they used to! Last night I ruined the run with curry chicken and rice....but we swam it off beforehand with an hour and half snorkel along the rocks. I would take a deep breath and descend to the bottom 20' below and hold on to a large rock. As the bigger tropicals got used to my presence they would start to come out from under the rocks like a large aquarium! So many colors darting around....too bad I'm only good for about a 1 minute breath gold right now! We limped back to the boat as sunny saw my dime sized goosebumps signaling it's time to have a cerveza or two! Thankfully she had on a shorty wetsuit and hugged me from behind as we kicked back to Wades Aweigh. It wasn't long before this bald Pelon was warm and snuggly in a towel laying in the cockpit, beer in one hand hers in my other....AHHHHHHH, Paradise.

Well folks, not much else to tell, we just be hanging with the locals. In a few days we will meet up with my parents back in Las Hadas for some fun and then plan out night together for New Years at the hotel.

Life is good!!!!

Brian & Laurie
Comments
Vessel Name: wades aweigh
Vessel Make/Model: 1974 Irwin 37
Hailing Port: anacortes, wa
Crew: Captain Lawnboy!
About: Me? well, retired pseudo landscaper turned worldsailor and adventure junkie….chasing new horizons one ocean at a time
Extra: I bought the boat from mom & dad in 1999 and have been restoring her to current glory ever since. It's a work in progress. This blog is an accounting of my travels raw and uncut.
wades aweigh's Photos - Main
20 Photos
Created 3 March 2024
misc pics of the trip so far!!!
68 Photos
Created 27 December 2010
misc stuff
No Photos
Created 26 December 2009
From Everett to San Diego in 2 weeks
6 Photos
Created 23 September 2009
Thanks for taking time to look up my blog! You are now on board with the COOLEST dream EVER!!