Livin the Dream!!

25 March 2024
19 March 2024 | Tenacatita
13 March 2024
13 March 2024
03 March 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024 | day 2
13 February 2024 | LaCruz Marina
01 February 2024
01 February 2024 | San Juanico
25 January 2024
20 January 2024 | San Quintin (no not the prison!)
16 January 2024 | ensenada
13 January 2024
29 November 2023 | Back at Das Boat!

Doin it La Cruz Style!

19 January 2011
Ok, so second time through..last time I tried to download the wifi here at the dock went down and so did my long blog! Here's the 411.

It's now 1/19 and the end is drawing near. We need to be in Mazatlan no later than the 28th in order to get everything done to store the boat. In La Cruz Marina where the surge makes the boat swing heavily at the dock and makes the lines creak all night...can you say ear plugs?!??

The day we got here I broke out my hose and scrubbing tools while dad ran a load of laundry up to get done. 3 hours later I had 50 days of salt and grime removed and the decks looked white again! No more dirty footprints all over my seat cushions! During my indentured servitude, 4 different amigos came by pimping their services for bottom cleaning, waxing etc...I finally settled on "Ernesto" who agreed to polish all my stainless (and there is a ton of it!) for a mere $100 bucks. He did it today with his 2 boys...and did an above average job....I think he got tired of my pointing out missed spots, but I was persistent.

Last night after we cleaned up, my friend Bruce from Anacortes and his hosts Russell and Lori invited us up to their house for a cerveza and to plan our attack on town. We ended up at the "Britannia" club which is an open air bar with a stage. It was open stage night and a total blast. The band was awesome and allowed Bruce and his soprano sax (HOT!) and me and lori with our air instruments to entertain the crowd...I think we won Gringo's got talent that night!! We all had a blast.

Today I searched for a diver, walked the outskirts of town, met dad and Bruce at a cool place for lunch (handheld VHF radios rock!) then came back to the boat for some afternoon reading and a shower. Met up with Bruce for dinner and now here I am....sitting below in shorts and bare feet....another successful day of cruising! At 64 degrees it actually feels cold tonight!! Gosh, maybe I'll actually have to get under the covers for the first time??

All for now, maybe I can come up with some more creative stuff for tomorrow-

Capm Lawnboy
Comments
Vessel Name: wades aweigh
Vessel Make/Model: 1974 Irwin 37
Hailing Port: anacortes, wa
Crew: Captain Lawnboy!
About: Me? well, retired pseudo landscaper turned worldsailor and adventure junkieā€¦.chasing new horizons one ocean at a time
Extra: I bought the boat from mom & dad in 1999 and have been restoring her to current glory ever since. It's a work in progress. This blog is an accounting of my travels raw and uncut.
wades aweigh's Photos - Main
20 Photos
Created 3 March 2024
misc pics of the trip so far!!!
68 Photos
Created 27 December 2010
misc stuff
No Photos
Created 26 December 2009
From Everett to San Diego in 2 weeks
6 Photos
Created 23 September 2009
Thanks for taking time to look up my blog! You are now on board with the COOLEST dream EVER!!