Sailing the Windward Islands

Vessel Name: Souverain
Vessel Make/Model: Hallberg Rassy 53
Hailing Port: San Francisco
06 February 2010
06 February 2010
05 February 2010
04 February 2010
03 February 2010
02 February 2010
02 February 2010
01 February 2010
31 January 2010
30 January 2010
30 January 2010
29 January 2010
29 January 2010
29 January 2010
28 January 2010
28 January 2010
27 January 2010
27 January 2010
26 January 2010
Recent Blog Posts
06 February 2010

Rescue Time

Well, home for some of the crew. I needed to try to find SOME night life. While boarding the dinghy to go back to the boat, some 'kids' came to me and asked, in French, if I could take them back to their boat. I told them, okay, but I need to take Phil and Debra first. Then I would come back to them [...]

06 February 2010

Buying the Restaurant

From our boat we could see a ship onshore(See picture). It's not really a ship it is actually a doctor's office. Off to shore for another dinner in Les Saintes. Last time Phil and I were here we learned a lesson in reservations. The only place a week ago that would have us for dinner was the art gallery. [...]

05 February 2010

Back to The Saints

Even though Bas-Du_Fort was a nice place, we thought Debra would like Les Saintes. It was only three hours away. And it would be a idealistic anchorage to start the trip. When Phil and I did the trip North, it was blowing 24kts and the boat was doing 9.8kts. Now with Debra aboard, the winds were about [...]

04 February 2010

Zoo Rock Cafe -- Deux

Debra felt that our refer was lacking some real 'food'. So off to the market. Phil and I 'thought' that the boat was provisioned with a chicken, two steaks and beer. Debra thought we need some Oranges, grapes, cheeses, carrots, Perrier, and of course, Diet Coke! Debra wanted some 'beef' for dinner. Ah, [...]

03 February 2010

Debra Arrives

Phil and I went out for lunch. Just something simple. We walked by the restaurant called 'Le Pirate Caribeen'. As we looked at the menu outside, this girl comes out and says "Free Drinks". That sounds cool. She hands us a card. Then we get the requirement. We must order an appetizer. Okay, no problem [...]

02 February 2010

Meat!

There are quite a lot of restaurants at the marina. One is called the Zoo Rock Café. Not that the name got us there, but the menu. In French they had 'Brochette'. In English it's 'Sword'. Well, is really was a sword! If you order a 'sword' of beef. The sword of beef would come on a stand with a giant [...]

Rescue Time

06 February 2010
Well, home for some of the crew. I needed to try to find SOME night life. While boarding the dinghy to go back to the boat, some 'kids' came to me and asked, in French, if I could take them back to their boat. I told them, okay, but I need to take Phil and Debra first. Then I would come back to them to take them to their boat. Off I went with Phil and Debra. Once they were aboard, I went back to the dock. There were six of them. I recognized them from the boat near ours that we saw earlier come in and anchor under sail! Very impressive. Since there were six, the plan was to take the three girls first. One was even pregnant! Okay! On the way over the girls told me that they had no dinghy! And they had no engine for the sailboat! BUT THEY HAD RUM! Would I like some rum? Well Duh!! What what about the 'boys'. Oh they will swim back to the boat. They like the challenge! I was a little concerned for the boys, but for the moment, the situation seemed under control. With the the girls back on the boat they started making Ti Punch! Wow! Ti punch tastes a lot different in a restaurant than it does on a sailboat with three girls! The 'Boys' finally showed up swimming to the boat. All the kids spoke English and I felt it as a golden opportunity to get local sailing information. Our original plan was to go to Montserrat tomorrow. But after checking the MVO(Montserrat Volcano Observatory) we found that there was an eruption yesterday. All things considerate, maybe we will skip Montserrat. I was in Montserrat in 1995, two weeks before the volcano blew and wiped out the Southern 2/3 of the island. A lot of what I visited then, is now destroyed. In talking with 'the kids' from Guadeloupe, our second choice is a good one. It called, Deshaies. Which according to the kids is pronounced, "Day-Hay". This French stuff is hard! I also took the opportunity to correct my French. So I asked to help me with 'vin du rouge'. I would say 'van du rouge'. They told me it is pronounced 'ron' not 'van'. Okay. Then it's 'da' not 'du'. Wow, this is completely different that I have been saying. And then "voo"(vous). I finally got it. They were trying to help me with ron-da-voo(rendevous). I said, "No, RED WINE!" Everyone laughed. Now it's "Van-Du-Rouge", not Ron-Da-Voo"! But they did tell me that 'rendevous' works with French girls also! I said Au revoir to my new best friends and headed for my dinghy. But one last 'gift', I broke the stern ladder on their sailboat. Maybe too much Ti Punch! Oh well, maybe Phil's insurance will cover it!
Comments

About & Links