Voyages

These are the voyages of the sailing vessel, Wings.

19 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
15 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
13 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
11 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
07 September 2023 | Apooiti Bay
03 September 2023 | Tapuamu, Taha'a
02 September 2023 | Tapuamu, Taha'a
31 August 2023 | Haamene Bay, Taha'a
29 August 2023 | Relais Mehana Hotel, Huahine
26 August 2023 | Fare, Huahine
19 August 2023 | Aloe Cafe, Viatape
13 August 2023 | Aloe Cafe, Viatape
11 August 2023 | Apooiti Bay mooring field
08 August 2023
08 August 2023 | Apooiti Bay, Raiatea
05 August 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
01 August 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
31 July 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
28 July 2023 | Orion Guest House

A Day in the Life

14 April 2013 | Offshore
Bill
After a brief discussion on conditions, Conni and I kiss briefly and she heads below for a much-deserved rest after her midnight-to-4 AM watch. I glance at the instruments after clipping my tether into the helm D-ring, and look around me. It's 0400, 4 AM, and it's dark The sky is filled with stars and constellations that I've never seen, although our old friend, the Big Dipper, is low on the northern horizon, still pointing to the now-invisible North Star. Good-bye for now.

The wind's still light, about 6 knots, and we ghost along at 3-4 knots, barely causing ripples or the noise of passing. Makes for a great sleep, but adds a lot of time to the passage. Earbuds inserted, music selected, and I settle in for my watch until 0800, 8 AM.

About 6, the eastern sky shows the faint light that tells of sunrise to the dark-accommodated eye. By 6:30, it's getting light and the stars are disappearing in the daylight. Sun is a growing button of incandescent red, rising from the eastern sea. The sea surface is not flat, of course, but made of myriad waves and rollers. From the top of one gigantic roller, it seems that I'm looking down in a deep valley when I glance into the trough of the next roller. I'm listening to Canadian folk musician, Bruce Cockburn, and Hills of Morning and I think that I'm actually in the Hills of Morning, but my morning hills are moving.

At 7:10, I go below to switch off the running and compass lights and run into Chip in his morning rituals. While I'm ready for watch in ten minutes, Chip enjoys a leisurely 45 minute preparation that doesn't differ from one morning to the next. I smell his after shave drift to the cockpit and know that it must be 7:30. Yep! Chip the clock.

At 8, he arrives on deck and I relay the important things for him to know for his watch. Not much news. I dive below, shed the now-hot watch gear, and prepare our cold cereal breakfast. I hang my gear in our berth and see Conni asleep wearing her hearing protectors to dampen the slapping waves and sails.

Another day has begun.

We're fewer than 1000 miles from Nuku Hiva, today. As the latitude shows, we're 104 miles north of the equator. Wow! With luck, we'll be across and into the Southern Hemisphere tomorrow night.

Happy Birthday to Toby!
Comments
Vessel Name: Wings
Vessel Make/Model: Passport 40
Hailing Port: Anchorage, Alaska
Crew: William Ennis and Constance Livsey
About: We've been married since 1991, and both retired from our respective jobs (teacher and attorney) after long careers. We live in the most exotic of the United States: Alaska. We cruise on Wings for half the year, enjoying our home state the other part of the year.
Extra:
We've sailed Wings Southward from Alaska since August, 2010. We joined the BajaHaha from SoCal to Mexico in 2012. We joined the Pacific Puddle Jump in 2013 and crossed the Pacific Ocean. Wings "over-summered" in French Polynesia. We continued our journey through western French Polynesia, [...]
Home Page: http://svwings.com
Wings's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.