Voyages

These are the voyages of the sailing vessel, Wings.

19 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
15 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
13 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
11 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
07 September 2023 | Apooiti Bay
03 September 2023 | Tapuamu, Taha'a
02 September 2023 | Tapuamu, Taha'a
31 August 2023 | Haamene Bay, Taha'a
29 August 2023 | Relais Mehana Hotel, Huahine
26 August 2023 | Fare, Huahine
19 August 2023 | Aloe Cafe, Viatape
13 August 2023 | Aloe Cafe, Viatape
11 August 2023 | Apooiti Bay mooring field
08 August 2023
08 August 2023 | Apooiti Bay, Raiatea
05 August 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
01 August 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
31 July 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
28 July 2023 | Orion Guest House

One step, one back

22 May 2018 | Pension Tiare Nui
Distressed Bill
This was a tough day. I received an email from instrument maker, Raymarine, with the results of their testing of the masthead wind transducer. I returned it after we had trouble with wind speed last season, and they kept it for a while then returned it. There were no test results in the box, so I thought that they had repaired it, but the email that I received today said that the technician had been unable to reproduce the problem. Damn! If I had known that, I would have pursued some other solutions, but I thought that I'd replace it at the masthead and all would work. Nope. To say that Conni was angry is an understatement. She's so low-maintenance, has so few demands about things that I felt terrible to disappoint her about this. I mean, she lives in this primitive bungalow and never complains and all she wanted was the damned wind instrument to operate. Man! I guess that I should have pursued more information from Raymarine about what they had done, or not done, but made the assumption that they had fixed it. Damn, they charged like they had fixed it.

We've asked the Carenage owner to contact some Raymarine folk here on the island, and I hope that he can help.

We found the propane leak!

I did it. Last Friday, while zealously torquing the fitting that connects the system to the tank fitting, the wrench slipped, evidently, and punctured the fitting! I've never heard of such, but I'm a newbie to propane systems. Still, I'm surprised that the brass punctured so easily. We have some options that we're pursuing, but we're now face to face with being in a metric country with SAE fittings. We were trying again to stop the leak and were trying to locate the source, and Conni said, "It's the fitting! There's a hole in it!" With the gas off, I removed the fitting, and sure enough, there was a puncture hole with the square shape of a 7/16 open end wrench end. Yeah, cool.

This morning, we drove the 200m to the local SOPOM lumber store and, with our terrible French, bought two pressure-treated 2x4-12s. I mention the dimension since that's how they were labeled in the yard, and sold. They allowed us to cut them to reduce length and we were able to drive back to the Carenage without having the lumber dragging on the road. Conni departed to buy provisions for our departure, and I stayed and worked on the racks for holding our gas, diesel fuel, and water Jerry jugs. The old wood, as I mentioned, was rotted by sun and salt water. The mild steel U-bolts that I had bought in Mexico before the 2013 crossing were rusted so badly that I could break them by hand, easily by hand. After a long search, I was able to find some stainless U-bolts of proper sized and that's what I used. With the SS U-bolts and pressure treated lumber, perhaps we'll have some longer use out of them.

Dealing with the punctured fitting would be a non-event if we could stroll into town and buy another. Here, knowing that getting anything from the US is a 2-week proposition, at best, we're struggling for options and workarounds. Cruising: Doing boat repair in exotic locations.

We plan to splash the boat on Friday.
Comments
Vessel Name: Wings
Vessel Make/Model: Passport 40
Hailing Port: Anchorage, Alaska
Crew: William Ennis and Constance Livsey
About: We've been married since 1991, and both retired from our respective jobs (teacher and attorney) after long careers. We live in the most exotic of the United States: Alaska. We cruise on Wings for half the year, enjoying our home state the other part of the year.
Extra:
We've sailed Wings Southward from Alaska since August, 2010. We joined the BajaHaha from SoCal to Mexico in 2012. We joined the Pacific Puddle Jump in 2013 and crossed the Pacific Ocean. Wings "over-summered" in French Polynesia. We continued our journey through western French Polynesia, [...]
Home Page: http://svwings.com
Wings's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.