Voyages

These are the voyages of the sailing vessel, Wings.

19 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
15 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
13 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
11 September 2023 | Pension Tiare Nui
07 September 2023 | Apooiti Bay
03 September 2023 | Tapuamu, Taha'a
02 September 2023 | Tapuamu, Taha'a
31 August 2023 | Haamene Bay, Taha'a
29 August 2023 | Relais Mehana Hotel, Huahine
26 August 2023 | Fare, Huahine
19 August 2023 | Aloe Cafe, Viatape
13 August 2023 | Aloe Cafe, Viatape
11 August 2023 | Apooiti Bay mooring field
08 August 2023
08 August 2023 | Apooiti Bay, Raiatea
05 August 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
01 August 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
31 July 2023 | Raiatea Carenage
28 July 2023 | Orion Guest House

Progress

23 July 2020 | Pension Tiare Nui
William Ennis | Rrrrrain
We've had a productive several days. We usually work 7 days a week, and we'll continue to do that, although we will arrive at the boat later on Saturday and Sunday.

Today is Covid test day. We each swab our own noses and inside cheeks and give the packets to Raihau, our pension manager. We've received emails stating that if we hear nothing, we're clear. No news is good news.

With some extraordinary luck, I was able to dislodge the depth transducer. It didn't just drop out, of course, but the "removal stars" aligned and it was easier than it could have been. The power and data cable that leads from the transducer to the depth module attaches to the module with a locking collar so that the cable doesn't get dislodged during rough conditions. That collar, though, will NOT fit through the various channels so that I can remove it! I wrote to Airmar, the one and only manufacturer of transducers in the US and this morning I received a document outlining the removal process. Whew! We'll either sell or give away the transducer and without that collar, it would not have been useful. Thank you, Airmar! I'll work on that collar and then remove the cable and that will release the transducer. While pulling the cable, I'll attach a small "messenger" cord that I can use to through the new cable. It will be our first piece of new network.

Conni and I worked for two hours on the process of changing the pitch and rotation direction of our propeller. The problem we solved was precipitated by our new transmission cabling: attaching the cable from helm to transmission operated the transmission in reverse! Damn! The simplest solution, by far, was to simply have the propeller pitch reversed. Both the propeller and the transmission manufacturer agreed that it was simple and would cause no problems, so that was our goal. I'm still unsure of what we were doing incorrectly, but it should not have taken so much time. Still, we did accomplish the task. That's a big one done.

I'm not sure if this next comes under the heading of travel problems or just my ranting. Our website is hosted by GoDaddy in the US, although they're world-wide at this point. I can't get to GoDaddy US! GoDaddy France? Sure, but my understanding of technical aspects in French is lacking. I did finally reach GoDaddy Singapore, so I'm sending webpages to that version. From here, at least, things seem to be OK. I've used an Adobe product to construct pages for many years but they've gone to subscription-based applications. It's too expensive for my use, so I'm using a simple hypertext editor, although it means I'm back to hand coding my pages. Haven't done that in a while! After I completed the pages I wanted to upload, I did so and saw that several photos were mis-aligned. Sorry folks, my coding skills have atrophied since I don't use them as much, but I'll fix those photos (maybe) and will do better. Was that whining?

The self-test for Covid provided and required by the FP government, by the way, is fast and not very intrusive: a nasa and oral swab. For a small country, it's an impressive way to preserve their Covid-free status.
Comments
Vessel Name: Wings
Vessel Make/Model: Passport 40
Hailing Port: Anchorage, Alaska
Crew: William Ennis and Constance Livsey
About: We've been married since 1991, and both retired from our respective jobs (teacher and attorney) after long careers. We live in the most exotic of the United States: Alaska. We cruise on Wings for half the year, enjoying our home state the other part of the year.
Extra:
We've sailed Wings Southward from Alaska since August, 2010. We joined the BajaHaha from SoCal to Mexico in 2012. We joined the Pacific Puddle Jump in 2013 and crossed the Pacific Ocean. Wings "over-summered" in French Polynesia. We continued our journey through western French Polynesia, [...]
Home Page: http://svwings.com
Wings's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.