Gone Sailing

30 December 2014 | Turtle Bay, Baja California Sur, Mexico
30 December 2014 | Hanging on the Hook in Turtle Bay
15 December 2014 | Still in Ensenada
12 December 2014 | Still in Ensenada
09 December 2014 | Ensenada, Mexico
05 December 2014 | San Diego
01 December 2014 | Oceanside... still.
30 November 2014 | Oceanside, CA
29 November 2014 | Dana Point Harbor, CA
28 November 2014 | Long Beach Harbor
17 November 2014 | Marina del Rey, Los Angeles, CA

Bad News, Good News

01 December 2014 | Oceanside... still.
Overcast... small cold front coming
Bad News:

Today I confirmed that the batteries - all three of them - were completely toasted and have to be replaced. Evidently the regulator I have isn't up to moderating the output from the engines alternator when motoring all day. Hopefully, the various bits of electronics protected themselves from the excess voltage in the system.

The other bad news is that Carl needed to go back to work and his wife, Sabine, came down to pick him up. Carl is one of life's really good guys. Generous, kind, quick to smile or laugh, a great attitude, jumps right in and does his share and more and he's a good sailor. I'll miss his company. It would have been a truly miserable sail yesterday without him.

The Good News:

Carl and Sabine may be able to show up at some time down in La Paz, where I'll be wintering and I'll be able to show them how sweet it is cruising in warm, clear waters where you can anchor out. I've attached a photo of Carl, Sabine and Carl's boy Miles.

More Good News:

Shea Weston, out of San Diego, is one the premier electronics people in the states and he will be driving up to Oceanside with a new set of batteries and a regulator that can handle my system. And, fingers crossed, he'll be able to chase the last of the gremlins out the complex set of electronics on board.

Meantime, I get to do nothing today putter about on the boat working on small things, hand Shea tools when he is working, and by the time I sail off (Thursday or Friday I'd guess), the Sun should be back out, the wind coming from behind me as it should be and I'll make a post from San Diego.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mariah
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 30
Hailing Port: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Home Page: http://www.stevewolfer.com

Port: Los Angeles, CA, USA