Gone Sailing

30 December 2014 | Turtle Bay, Baja California Sur, Mexico
30 December 2014 | Hanging on the Hook in Turtle Bay
15 December 2014 | Still in Ensenada
12 December 2014 | Still in Ensenada
09 December 2014 | Ensenada, Mexico
05 December 2014 | San Diego
01 December 2014 | Oceanside... still.
30 November 2014 | Oceanside, CA
29 November 2014 | Dana Point Harbor, CA
28 November 2014 | Long Beach Harbor
17 November 2014 | Marina del Rey, Los Angeles, CA

Work on the boat is nearly done

12 December 2014 | Still in Ensenada
Rainy - Good weather to be on dry land
They finished painting the bottom of the boat just before the rains came. My new depth sounder is installed (I really didn't like creeping into port without knowing how much water was under the keel!).

I managed to install the new VHF radio and get it working, and the people here at the yard hooked it up to GPS for me. Baja Naval is the name of the ship yard and so far I have to say they are excellent! The workers start early, take about an hour and a half for lunch, during which they play volley ball. Often as not one or more are singing while they are working. And they work hard - knocking off about 4pm. Everyone seems to be happy and like that is their natural state.

This is Mexican shipyard but their bathroom and shower facilities have all white marble floors and walls. I'm telling you, it makes Marina del Rey's facilities look positively third world.

I'm delighted to say that I've been munching down on some fine Mexican food: Fish tacos, Birria and an omelet ranchero style, and tonight it's going to be a seafood restaurant that has been highly recommended.

Mariah will be back in the water sometime tomorrow (weather permitting) and within a week I expect I'll be on the way to La Paz.
-----------------

Bill asked if that thing in the upper right corner is an RSS control.... yes, and I thought it was turned on, but maybe it doesn't work.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mariah
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 30
Hailing Port: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Home Page: http://www.stevewolfer.com

Port: Los Angeles, CA, USA