S/V Bluebottle

22 March 2018 | Barrenjoey head, Pittwater NSW
12 March 2018
15 January 2018
15 January 2018
17 May 2017 | Hobart, Tasmania
07 April 2016
17 March 2015 | Hobart
16 September 2013 | Kings Pier Marina, Hobart
25 May 2013
24 May 2013
24 May 2013
24 May 2013
06 December 2012
11 September 2012

Getting to see it all - Day 13

31 August 2010 | Bora Bora to Tonga, day 13
Joe
Imagine a boy, about eleven or twelve years of age, riding the billy cart he and his younger brother had built with their dad's tools, out of wood they found around the house, plus a handful of nails. They had to find wheels, and in the beginning they used old rubber-tired, wire-spoke wheels from baby carriages - prams or strollers - mounted on a quarter inch steel rod axle. But far better than these rickety old wheels were the ball races - wheel bearings from cars - that you you could get for nothing at the local garage. These were hammered on the shaved ends of wooden axles (you belted in a few nails to wedge the bearings on), and the front axle swung as you steered with your feet. This is suburban Sydney, new South Wales, Australia; kids played on the street, cricket was a home-made bat, a tomato crate for a wicket, and a tennis ball. Okay, now picture me coming fast down the slick hot mix bitumen road (there were not many cars around Lane Cove in the early fifties, it was considered safe) doing broad skids as I took the corner fast and fearless. I would check ahead and then bend my head around, to watch myself scooting along the smooth black road surface, the axles a bare inch above the road. In my movie screen vision I took in the blur of the road the simmering sound of the ball bearings the unpainted wood platform with its three-inch-high sides and my legs and feet out front on the steering bar, with its quarter inch bolt - and the ropes through holes in the front axle, hands holding the ropes - I took it all in, I watched it, wanting to SEE what I was doing, to hear it, feel it, know it, not just DO it. ... The experience is not complete (I didn't think about it then, only now) unless you are aware of it, all of it.

Later I would do the same in my red MG sports car with the chrome wire wheels, with its wonderfully noisy engine. The MG TC had those long, flared mudgards, between them the narrow vertical radiator with the MG emblem and the chrome water fill cap and the big, chromed, separate headlamps. Some nights I would put the top down and tie on my golden-varnished double bass, its gorgeous scrolled pegboard projecting over the windscreen. It was summer, the Sydney air muggy and hot as always. But on these days, I would get up some speed down that big hill coming into Epping, and look at my back wheel and the low-slung red racer body. It was good to be alive - to be young, to be heading to rehearsal at the television studio for our weekly one-hour prime-time variety TV show. And to watch your wheel spinning.

Point is, I'm still doing it, watching myself moving fast - tonight it's happening out in the South Pacific, the 49 ft ketch sluicing along at a solid 7 knots through the water in a calm sea, yellow moon watching, on a close reach hour after lovely hour. Want to be immersed in the experience, yet standing back and watching it. Funny, that. Maybe everyone's the same, don't know.

Interesting. And also why I write the blog, here.
Comments
Vessel Name: BLUEBOTTLE (ex-Aura)
Vessel Make/Model: Lidgard 49' steel ketch
Hailing Port: Hobart
Crew: Adrienne Godsmark and Joe Blake
About:
We have completed our trans-Pacific voyage - from Panama to Hobart via Ecuador, Mexico, French Polynesia, Tonga, Fiji, Vanuatu and Bundaberg, and are now pausing before resuming land life. [...]
Extra:
When the port authorities here were approached to renew our Panamanian boat registration, they said "You can't call your boat Aura - that's taken" so we decided to call her Bluebottle! If you know the Goons, you know of Bluebottle, that little twit! He was always getting into trouble with his thin [...]

BLUEBOTTLE (ex-Aura)

Who: Adrienne Godsmark and Joe Blake
Port: Hobart