S/V Bluebottle

22 March 2018 | Barrenjoey head, Pittwater NSW
12 March 2018
15 January 2018
15 January 2018
17 May 2017 | Hobart, Tasmania
07 April 2016
17 March 2015 | Hobart
16 September 2013 | Kings Pier Marina, Hobart
25 May 2013
24 May 2013
24 May 2013
24 May 2013
06 December 2012
11 September 2012

The Only Characters Freer Than Me Are Found In Books

30 January 2011
[Warning: If you think the mind is merely useful, and not an organ of immense power and mystery, and you believe the life of the mind is not worth talking about, I strongly recommend you read no further. - Yes, that means you, up the back, with the funny grin.]

The Only Characters Freer Than Me Are Found In Books

While I'd LIKE to be able to say that, I can't really - that is, AND be taken seriously. My track record shows a few bold strikes, and a whole stack of things done for the first time without any upfront training or knowledge - sailing a boat across the Pacific with a companion similarly ill-equipped as I for such an endeavour is the most recent, but not the only one. I popped into a plum job singing for my supper on a primetime national TV show at age 21, never done anything like that before in my churchgoing, nice-and-proper, live-with-my-parents life. Experimenting with booze and drugs and sex I will not mention, because everyone in my generation was doing THAT - yet for me, just emerging from the supersaturated christian environment made it feel way more risky and way more exciting. Between school and that job, when I didn't want to go to classes at Sydney University I went to the movies, and told no-one. AND failed royally. I got myself a boat, only 22 foot long, and set sail for Russell, N.Z., 1200 miles away - my girlfriend came too - and with tiny pilot fish leading our white-painted bow into the inky blue waters off the continental shelf that tiny yacht climbed every wave as if it were a penance, as if it were a faithful dog, climbing down the other side of every wave ruminating like a cow, and really getting nowhere; and the skipper turned around after an 8-day week, now sailing with the wind at their backs, and found Australia. The boat was a very old and leaky wooden sloop, stated by the marine surveyor, on purchase, in his report, to be "suitable for use within enclosed waters" - which the Tasman Sea is not.

Next in the line of untried, okay let's have a go! adventures was stepping into the role of schoolteacher without the shred of a credential, lacking the least minute of training, and possessing not one day of experience - in a country Catholic school - and me a city boy and a Protestant, well, born and raised church-chastened priest-fearing Bible-boy anyhow. And I BECAME a CATH'LIC too - another first for me! And then started fathering kids (five in 6 ½ years!) - well --- nearly everyone has kids, so maybe that doesn't count, on the Freedom CV, but FIVE!?

Did a bachelor degree and Masters degree as time-out from employment.

Briefly, now - Got fired from one of the most prestigious Catholic Private schools in Australia - Saint Ignatius, Riverview for doing it my way - retrained from teaching Art to Industrial Arts and was sent to a Deaf school! Schoolkids don't listen to the teacher but at the North Rocks School For Deaf Children this was considered perfectly okay. Nobody's listened to me since, I think. Went into schools as a man wearing a yellow plastic Dick Tracy hat and a ukulele and was greeted with disdain by the senior staff and delight by the children, worked as a roofpainter, labourer, taxidriver, self-employed Self-Help guru, busker, musician and kitemaking teacher among many other things, including playing Santa Claus in department stores and at a fancy hotel on Christmas day.

I ended a marriage with an Englishwoman, and began one with a California Chick. I took myself less and less seriously --- and then ---

It came time to run a restaurant! Why? Neither my wife nor I had ever done this before, but did we let that stop us? Not then! But two-and-a-half years later we were begging passersby in the street to take it off our hands, gratis, but that's another story. Meanwhile we took a foundering, bankrupt community icon and gave it mouth-to-mouth day-to-day resuscitation, breathed new money into its little lungs, and with autocratic chefs, local blue-eye and hand-cut chips, young staff, Jazz on Sundayz and everlovin' smiles from our hostess we got it up and running, and kept it running, 7 days a week.

That brings us up to the 6,000 mile US/Canada by road and 9,000 mile Pacific (by waves) treks - me ending up back home morally richer, financially poorer and on the shady side of 70.

Of course, in compiling my Freedom CV, my Resume Libre I have been selective, as you do when you write a resume, but even so, based on that, I can't honestly say what I'd like to be able to say, namely: The Only Characters Freer Than Me Are Found In Books. And I have left out entirely my adventures in Inner Space, the so called Spiritual Quest, a compulsive digging into the What-Am-I? aided by drugs, religion and bookreading, meditation, prayer and blind luck (=Divine guidance?). Age brings, maybe not wisdom, maybe not sagehood, Buddhahood, Enlightenment - but some fucking good lessons about oneself. I am content. To hew wood, draw water, and drink beer. All of which, are as before, but (dare I express it?) One. Me and Bobby McGee - even with the windshield wipers slappin' time (a really good line!) - will NOT agree: Freedom's NOT just another word for nothin' left to do - it's another word for nothin' left you HAVE to do!

'Bye friends, and thanks for listenin'. - All comments welcome, specially friendly ones.

........

No photo could cover this story, but maybe I'll find one ...

Comments
Vessel Name: BLUEBOTTLE (ex-Aura)
Vessel Make/Model: Lidgard 49' steel ketch
Hailing Port: Hobart
Crew: Adrienne Godsmark and Joe Blake
About:
We have completed our trans-Pacific voyage - from Panama to Hobart via Ecuador, Mexico, French Polynesia, Tonga, Fiji, Vanuatu and Bundaberg, and are now pausing before resuming land life. [...]
Extra:
When the port authorities here were approached to renew our Panamanian boat registration, they said "You can't call your boat Aura - that's taken" so we decided to call her Bluebottle! If you know the Goons, you know of Bluebottle, that little twit! He was always getting into trouble with his thin [...]

BLUEBOTTLE (ex-Aura)

Who: Adrienne Godsmark and Joe Blake
Port: Hobart