S/V Bluebottle

22 March 2018 | Barrenjoey head, Pittwater NSW
12 March 2018
15 January 2018
15 January 2018
17 May 2017 | Hobart, Tasmania
07 April 2016
17 March 2015 | Hobart
16 September 2013 | Kings Pier Marina, Hobart
25 May 2013
24 May 2013
24 May 2013
24 May 2013
06 December 2012
11 September 2012

Quakes and Tsunamis, Personal and Otherwise

16 March 2011
My earthquake experience happened in Bowral, New South Wales, in the middle of the night. I came out of a dream where an angry giant had hold of the corner-post of the eighty-foot verandah and was shaking the whole house. My wife and I sat up in bed and clung to each other like babes in the woods. There was a brief moment of terror when I had no idea what was happening. The rumbles spread out into the cowpastures and the paddocks rippled like waves in the ocean, the lonely, dismayed cows groaning aloud in the dark. It turned out to be 6.9 on the Richter scale, quite high, and yet no major damage ensued. Big earthquakes don't happen in Australia, right? Not yet. Australia has no major fault lines, right? Not yet. Maybe we should ask the traditional occupiers about the history of quakes, since our records go back such a little way.

I don't want to add my confusion to yours. Often I take liberties with my reader, imagining him to be a much closer friend than he thinks he is. He is, even if he doesn't know it. I do this in personal confrontations, too; the person may be thinking "I don't even know you" but he is intrigued by my impertinence, and if I'm lucky this keeps him nailed until I can get his attention by conventional means.

Yet the nub of each and every text of mine is: existence, being, or, if you like, am-ness. This the mystery, this the wall underlying the graffiti - the graffiti of our shimmering brief lives, the scrawl of our stories, our days in the sun, our nights cowering or romping in our beds.. What's it all written ON? Think of all the happenings in our lives - all the drama - yet who are the actors? Pause. Reeeeally PAUSE. ... Imagine if we were all reduced to anonymity - our names, personal histories, our bodies and personalities, our likes-and-dislikes, our self constructs - if all this were erased in one blinding flash of lightning, one awesome roll of thunder - then we would still exist! We'd still BE here: (wherever HERE is) our raw being, our am-ness untouched. This is, according to Dr. Woodbury, the Principal of the Aquinas Academy years ago , what happens to us the moment after death - we see our soul at last, exclaiming: "There's the bugger!!".

I feel quite unable to make small talk. Yet - and yet - and this is in the midst of a profound crisis in Japan - earthquake, tsunami, volcano eruption and nuclear catastrophe - where tens of thousands have perished and most survivors live in suspense with a barely sketched future - I still am seduced by the comforting restriction, an easy smallness... What is this? The reassuring straitjacket of habit, the homely prison cell of my invented self, my personally accepted leg-irons, a self as familiar as old pair of smelly woolen socks, never washed in a lifetime. My self. Love it. Hate it.

My doubt is not whether I actually think as I have described here, but whether I should post this on the blog. But why not? Either no-one is reading this, or perhaps a reader who thinks he doesn't understand turns away in disgust, in which case there is no harm, or that one person - just one - does understand and wants to be part of the conversation, in which case it is definitely worth it. Hey, baby! Welcome aboard. Let's explore the unspoken.

Comments
Vessel Name: BLUEBOTTLE (ex-Aura)
Vessel Make/Model: Lidgard 49' steel ketch
Hailing Port: Hobart
Crew: Adrienne Godsmark and Joe Blake
About:
We have completed our trans-Pacific voyage - from Panama to Hobart via Ecuador, Mexico, French Polynesia, Tonga, Fiji, Vanuatu and Bundaberg, and are now pausing before resuming land life. [...]
Extra:
When the port authorities here were approached to renew our Panamanian boat registration, they said "You can't call your boat Aura - that's taken" so we decided to call her Bluebottle! If you know the Goons, you know of Bluebottle, that little twit! He was always getting into trouble with his thin [...]

BLUEBOTTLE (ex-Aura)

Who: Adrienne Godsmark and Joe Blake
Port: Hobart