Letters from a yacht

03 July 2012
16 June 2012 | lobby lounge restaurant
13 June 2012 | villelongue
09 June 2012 | xx
01 June 2012
28 May 2012 | Xx
27 May 2012 | xx
25 May 2012 | x
25 May 2012 | villelongue
25 May 2012 | xx
25 May 2012 | villelongue
24 May 2012 | kitchen
23 May 2012 | McDo
23 May 2012 | McDo
22 May 2012 | my warm bed
21 May 2012 |
21 May 2012 | McDo
19 May 2012 | Chateau Villelongue
17 May 2012 | x
13 May 2012 | St Marie

accents

13 May 2012 | St Marie
Sherryl
As you all know by now, I am here, in this little village house in Villelongue and chez patrick is crossing the north Atlantic, heading towards the Acores, from where she will head to Cadiz, Gibraltor and then finally, Canet Port!! Well, after not hearing any news from the boat, for too many days, and my over active imagination playing havoc with my brain, I decided that it was a good idea, for T and me to go for a very long cycle.. The wind was very gusty and fairly strong, le vent Marin, it's called in this part of the world or la Tramontane, depending on which direction it's blowing from. We have still not agreed on which wind was blowing because it was swirling. Coming from all directions!! Anyway, it was either take the bikes and head out, or do serious damage to the Cava stock in the house and so, we took to the roads. We cycled to the next village, St Marie and then cycled all along the beach front. After being blown as dry as parchment , we noticed a corner cafe, offering free wifi. I instantly pulled in and asked the bored and arrogant looking waiter, whether they were open and whether the wifi was working. He looked at me as though I'd asked him whether the pope was catholic. Going on to explain....how could I think that the resto was not serving, when the lights were on inside!! I had only seen him clearing all the menus, glasses and serviettes, from all the outside tables, a minute earlier. Explain that to me!! I didn't tell him that though because I still needed his wifi code so that we could use the free wifi!! We ordered two glasses of ice cold, dry white wine. They didn't last very long and so we re-ordered, only to be given two much smaller glasses this time!! He obviously saw our bikes and decided to take it upon himself to see that we got home safely!!! When we finally asked for l'addtion s'il vous plait he said, oh the damage:-)!! He was quite obviously dying to try out his newly learned English on us. He then proceeded to ask us where we we from and so when we said, South Africa he said. Well, I thought you were English and then I thought you were Americans and then I thought you were Australian!!! But, you didn't sound like any of them, so I didn't know where you were from. South Africa, never seemed to ring much of a bell for him. Probably, like many people in this region had never heard of it before. I guess that we don't really see ourselves as having such a strong, unusual accent?? He thought we did. We took our bikes and pedalled off into the night. Still no news from chez patrick. As we were about to turn the light off and try to sleep, I received news!!! They had been through some awful weather and were all fine but in serious need of some sleep and rest!!! I drifted off to sleep, praying for fair winds and calm seas. A la prochaine Xxx
Comments
Vessel Name: chez patrick
Vessel Make/Model: Leopard 46
Hailing Port: Cape Town
Crew: Patrick, Sherryl & Gareth
About: Husband, wife and son team

Who: Patrick, Sherryl & Gareth
Port: Cape Town