Restless Goes Sailing

Anniversary Weevils

Our night on the finish line was fun. Only one boat, but much cheering and tooting of air horns by us. Well done them, they are hundreds of miles ahead, it is a racing boat I think. They had to get towed into the marina, perhaps they don’t have an engine to reduce the boat weight. But before that......look away now if you are squeamish. You may have noticed John’s post about weevils and ships biscuits, this is so much worse. Last night I was cooking pasta for dinner. I opened a new packet and tipped it into the boiling water....hey ho...what is going on. A bubbling mass of beasties in with the pasta. I looked at the packet in horror, it was alive. Much screaming, as per normal, before Tim rescued me and dumped the whole lot overboard. Now the bad bit. Google research confirms that eggs/ larvae can survive the drying pasta process and can hatch out in bags in the “right conditions”, apparently being hot dry lockers. Absolutely horrified by this, I don’t think I can eat dried pasta again....where does that leave me. We have about 3 kilo’s on board which we now need to dig out and examine. What a wedding anniversary...usually We have a jaunty lunch out, today I am on a weevil hunt 😕. Say what you like about Scottish sailing but pasta has never hatched out before. I guess it is too cool for conditions to be right. However, that horror scenario will be forgotten tonight as we tuck into our celebration meal of tinned haggis (please tell me weevils couldn’t be in there), neeps and tatties washed down with a Speyside Cragganmore. Hope you’ll join us in a dram..but first go check those packets of past. You know it makes sense. 😂

Comments