S/Y Yanita (Etap 38i)

Port: Ostend (summer) - River Orwell (winter)
14 February 2006 | St Albans
05 February 2006
21 January 2006
02 January 2006
25 December 2005
30 November 2005
31 October 2005
10 October 2005
30 September 2005 | Ostend
11 September 2005
16 August 2005 | Ostend
15 August 2005 | Ramsgate
12 August 2005 | Brighton
11 August 2005 | Gosport
10 August 2005 | Cowes
09 August 2005 | Yarmouth
06 August 2005
03 August 2005
02 August 2005 | Sark

Out with the old...

05 February 2006
It's been quiet on the Blog front for some time now. Not that there was a lack of activity, on the contrary.

Yanita's been up for sale for 6 months now. Advertised a bit, but still sailed and enjoyed her. No broker - I don't see anything that justifies their fee.
It was time to move on, but I was in no hurry about it. Guess part of me was not ready to let go. After all, these past few years there had not been a day I hadn't thought about her, worried about her, worked on her or simply sailed her (those were the best days).

Then out of the blue, phone call from Dublin: someone interested in viewing her the next day. We had some tire kickers in the past, but this one was flying in from Ireland - serious punter?
Next day we meet - he pokes around for about an hour. Starts haggling, and 15 minutes later I hear someone in my voice saying: "OK- sold!" Deposit was paid, survey to follow. Very unreal feeling.

Two weeks later, the surveyor comes along. Long and short of it: "The boat's a credit to you - the man would be a fool not to buy her. Why are you selling anyway?" "You know: I don't remember."

Some further e-mails are exchanged, and then last Friday a bankers draft for the outstanding balance arrives. And then it hits me: she's gone.
The children are apprehensive - what are we going to do now over the week-ends? I don't know. Lump in my throat. Drove over on Saturday (on my own) for a final goodbye. Someone's died.

We had planned to move on to another boat fairly swiftly, but the boat we had had an eye on for some time turned out to be a bit of a dog (with fleas). The term "money pit" comes to mind. �560 for the survey - but money well spent. I was about to pour my life's savings down a floating black hole.

But, onwards and upwards. Already have a "Plan B" in mind. Don't think I could get used to being boat-less for too long.
Comments
Vessel Make/Model: Sloop rigged sailing yacht
Hailing Port: Ostend (summer) - River Orwell (winter)
About: The Vandenbossche family
Extra: One family and their boat. A daydream, a vision and now, slowly, becoming reality.

S/Y Yanita (Etap 38i)

Port: Ostend (summer) - River Orwell (winter)