Sailing with YELO

22 April 2024 | big Ocean
21 April 2024 | Clarion Island
20 April 2024 | between Cabo and Nuku
19 April 2024 | between Cabo and Nuku
16 April 2024 | Cabo San Lucas
15 April 2024 | Los Frailes
14 April 2024 | Bahia los Muertos
10 April 2024 | la Paz
09 April 2024 | la Paz
13 January 2024 | La Paz
10 January 2024 | San Evaristo
07 January 2024 | San Evaristo
04 January 2024 | Punta Salinas, Isla San Jose
02 January 2024 | Punta San Telmo
01 January 2024 | Agua Verde
28 December 2023 | Puerto Balandra

Unfriendly reception in the Gambier Islands

23 January 2019 | Gambier
Rolf
It was a long trip for the old captain. I call it orangutan sailing. I move about our large cockpit with all four hands holding on to my overhead rope-handles or anything I can grab. If you just move without holding on, the jerky motion of Yelo throws you into a usually hard object. The many bruises that you hit twice already start to hurt. I often think: You are getting to old for this Rolf. But then again the last 24 hours were fine, same NE wind but a gentle swell from the side made all the difference. We made it in to the lagoon and anchored on a beautiful beach on Ile Aukena. Turquoise waters and flat calm seas, palm trees swaying in a gentle breeze. We thought we arrived in paradise�....until�...�... We get a visit from two locals, Bernard and Marie Noele. They looked rather serious and told us that we are anchored in front of their house and that we have to move away!! I thought this was a bad joke since we were exactly 160 meters from the beach and about 250 meters from his house. But he insisted: I don't want to see ANY boat from my house. I told him the ocean belongs to everyone and there is no sign on my charts that won't allow me to anchor. He starts shouting and tells me that I can leave Gambier if I am not happy with his �"decision�". �"OOff�" I explain that I am a little tired now. I just arrived after 5 days and nights of bumpy sailing. In my 18 years around the world ,I have never received such a �"welcome�". I told him, the Chinese, the Japanese, the Africans, the Latinos and all the islanders worldwide where always happy to see my boat. But his answer was NO. Julien, a friendly yachtie drove them in his dingy and he said, he anchored there as well and moved away when Bernard told him. So rather than creating a big stink, we decided to move 100 meters east, so they couldn't see us from their house anymore. Its quiet here and the other houses on land don't seem to bother. Bernard also told us that we can't walk anywhere since it's all private. But on his land we can walk�... I'll check it out today. And as I am rather astonished by this negative reception, I think it would be a great conversation with the Major of this island. I have been to a few Majors offices and I find its always interesting to chat with them. I am really curious to see what he makes of this Bernard and Marie Noele situation. Do they need yachts ? Are they welcoming tourists or not? The Marqueasans told me that the Gambier people are not so friendly. They are interested to count their pearls and money. No time talking, they said. I read similar stories on the web�...more news on that later �.... Bernard mentioned that sometimes he has 19 yachts in front of his house. I can understand that yachts starting to be a plague for many beach houses. The country and each island have to make clear guidelines on what we can do and what NOT. More news from paradise in a few days �... The internet only works a 3 seconds at the time. Yesterday we couldn't do any web at all. My SSB radio is also dead�...oh well : welcome to paradise!!
Comments
Vessel Name: YELO
Vessel Make/Model: CATANA 431
Hailing Port: LANGKAWI
Crew: ROLF & DANIELA
YELO's Photos - Main
First sunny and hot, then the fog moves in and the boat gets all wet. You feel the light drizzle
16 Photos
Created 20 March 2023