Sailing with YELO

16 April 2024 | Cabo San Lucas
15 April 2024 | Los Frailes
14 April 2024 | Bahia los Muertos
10 April 2024 | la Paz
09 April 2024 | la Paz
13 January 2024 | La Paz
10 January 2024 | San Evaristo
07 January 2024 | San Evaristo
04 January 2024 | Punta Salinas, Isla San Jose
02 January 2024 | Punta San Telmo
01 January 2024 | Agua Verde
28 December 2023 | Puerto Balandra
19 December 2023 | San Juanico
17 December 2023 | Punta Chivato
16 December 2023 | Punta Chivato
28 November 2023 | Santa Rosalia
18 August 2023 | San Carlos
05 July 2023 | La Paz to San Carlos

Rotten chow mein

31 December 2020 | Gambier
Rolfo
to pass the long nights i eat noodle soup. Took me a while to find it after we shifted everything around to catch the rat on board Yelo. We never caught the rat, it ran away. But i found my noodle tray with "Deliciously savory sauce" in it. Tons of MSG and E321 . I like
that. But when i opened the container it was all moldy black and smelled bad. This one got ditched and lucky me i found another one .This time with Pad Thai flavor. Yummi , can't go wrong there. So i did the "3 step easily instructions" and slurped away. Funny how taste
and music or other sounds bring back memories. Some good some bad. I like music to carry me back to the 70s or even bring me in a world way before my time. Allegri Misery or anything from Silvius Leopold Weiss, or Bach does that . I am right there 400 years ago. All
Spanish or South American composers like Tarrega, Villa Lobos or Barrios bring me to the time i played them as well. This time travel is something really special. I feel the fingers in pain and i tighten up before the difficult parts. But the joy of expressing the music over rides it all. What do people do, that never played an instrument?

Noodle soup brings me back to the many nights out at sea, when i sailed boats to make a living. Not always pleasant, but its a part of me : easily brought back to feel like i am on watch on this giant yacht, sailing thru the night while every body else on board is asleep.
Do you have tastes that bring back memory?

Sounds bring back memory as well. Last night i heard the voice of a German sailor on the radio. Right away I got an ill feeling in my stomach. Whenever i used to see him and his wife, i felt uncomfortable . I couldn't say why. As i got to know him just a little more i
knew why. His thoughts and comments where only negative. No joy , no laughter . At the anchorage him and his wife shouted at each other most of the days. It was so loud and unpleasant. He also shouted at everybody that came to close to his anchor spot or in the
harbor he docked. He never had anybody visiting his boat. I wondered why on earth you seek to travel to "paradise" and bring your own misery with you. I often thought , they should stay home . Europeans tolerate shouting, stay there. But Asians and Polynesian's don't do it much. Whenever his boat name came up, all other yachts had a negative story to tell about him and his wife. Its amazing how people constantly project this negativity and EVERYBODY around them feels it. Certainly the Polynesian's noticed.
So what do you do? I did nothing, just stayed away from them. Until one day, i asked him if he could move his boat or take me along side. I wanted to go inside this port to get away from some nasty weather. But the way he parked his boat it was impossible to fit another
one next to him. Plenty of space , for HIM alone. Off course his answer to my asking was Nein, nein nein , his solar panels would be in the shade , he claimed. I called him an Arschloch right away.
To understand my reaction , you have to know that i started sailing in the 1970tees. In those days yachties helped fishermen, cargo sailors helped us Everybody that goes out to sea helped each other. Those days are gone. Not many yachties run out to help when one
of us is in trouble..

So i got a little chuckle when i see this sad German writing a negative comment about my personality in my blog page. He even went out of his way to create a false ID email like "eff you.com" or something. Trying to seek another fight where there is no one to fight with.
I could erase it ,or say: Viel Feind, viel Ehr" hi hi hi

this taste was bad, but fortunately life has a lot of good things left for us to do and see and smell. It just puzzles me how 2 sailors carry such a big bag of rotten apples around the world.

100 miles too go to Gambier
Comments
Vessel Name: YELO
Vessel Make/Model: CATANA 431
Hailing Port: LANGKAWI
Crew: ROLF & DANIELA
YELO's Photos - Main
First sunny and hot, then the fog moves in and the boat gets all wet. You feel the light drizzle
16 Photos
Created 20 March 2023