Sailing with YELO

22 April 2024 | big Ocean
21 April 2024 | Clarion Island
20 April 2024 | between Cabo and Nuku
19 April 2024 | between Cabo and Nuku
16 April 2024 | Cabo San Lucas
15 April 2024 | Los Frailes
14 April 2024 | Bahia los Muertos
10 April 2024 | la Paz
09 April 2024 | la Paz
13 January 2024 | La Paz
10 January 2024 | San Evaristo
07 January 2024 | San Evaristo
04 January 2024 | Punta Salinas, Isla San Jose
02 January 2024 | Punta San Telmo
01 January 2024 | Agua Verde
28 December 2023 | Puerto Balandra
19 December 2023 | San Juanico

out in the motu

29 March 2021 | Gambier
29 again
After a week of social activity, we went back out to the North of the airport for some peace and turquoise water. Unfortunately the mobile phone tower covering us is dead AGAIN . This problem has been on and on for the 3 years we have been here. I don't know why and
the locals don't complain enough that it gets any better. They just shrug their shoulders and keep on living.
Last flight that came in on Tuesday brought the Pfizer corona vaccine. The weeks before the doctor announced that only age would get you on top of the list . But now it is official : all locals will have it first before they give it to the foreigners, Oh well !! In Tahiti and other
islands you can walk in as a tourist and 10 minutes later you are finished. Hell knows if its politics or what that makes such a difference in all the islands.
We have many sewing projects and still have 200 pearls to drill. I am starting to doubt that pearl jewelry is my future profession. I spend 3 afternoons with some boat ladies looking thru my creations. Although I appreciate their input and positive criticism, it took way to long
for me. One of the 3 bought a necklace for 50$ . Average time spend on Yelo was 2 hours . If you count Danielas and my time; its 4 working hours for 50$ BUT minus the pearl, the hardware, the work, the hassle buying jewelry supplies worldwide AND mailing it with the
help of my daughter in France and haggling with the pearl farmers.....its not worth the effort. But we still love pearls. Maybe the sales are a little better in the rest of the islands where there are no pearls and pearl jewelry makers.

Radio New Zealand is dead for some reason but I got BBC world service last night . They talked a lot about how the world and CANADA will not be able to reach its climate goals. The reporter said it was difficult to change the Canadians love for gas guzzlers like their giant
SUVs etc. etc . But then he had good news and turned the microphone outside the studio. And there it was : the sound of spring with my beloved tree frogs. I had tears in my eyes , I wanted to be there for that moment when nature kicks into spring mode.

I learned to love Canada for that , but I am also sad to see that the environment is not a popular subject there. When I am there I am not happy to drive in any car . They are all tooo big and the peoples attitude towards energy is outdated. I can talk and preach, but I only
get lame smiles. Maybe one day the young people will get greener and vote for green parties. But at the moment I see no hope. A few old hippies care, but I still see many enjoying waterski, ski-doo or anything with an engine on it to have fun.

At the moment huge sandstorms bring tons of sand to Pejing and the sandstorms in the Sinai desert push the container ships into the mud. Here we still have turquoise water and a gentle breeze until the end of the week. Then we have to seek shelter from rain and nasty
Westerlies coming our way.
Comments
Vessel Name: YELO
Vessel Make/Model: CATANA 431
Hailing Port: LANGKAWI
Crew: ROLF & DANIELA
YELO's Photos - Main
First sunny and hot, then the fog moves in and the boat gets all wet. You feel the light drizzle
16 Photos
Created 20 March 2023