Sailing with YELO

16 April 2024 | Cabo San Lucas
15 April 2024 | Los Frailes
14 April 2024 | Bahia los Muertos
10 April 2024 | la Paz
09 April 2024 | la Paz
13 January 2024 | La Paz
10 January 2024 | San Evaristo
07 January 2024 | San Evaristo
04 January 2024 | Punta Salinas, Isla San Jose
02 January 2024 | Punta San Telmo
01 January 2024 | Agua Verde
28 December 2023 | Puerto Balandra
19 December 2023 | San Juanico
17 December 2023 | Punta Chivato
16 December 2023 | Punta Chivato
28 November 2023 | Santa Rosalia
18 August 2023 | San Carlos
05 July 2023 | La Paz to San Carlos

past the equator

08 May 2022 | on the way to Hawaii
Rolfo
DAY 4 CROSSING THE EQUATOR 163 miles in 24 h
it was my night watch at 1 am and Daniela woke me : " Quick Quick, Rolfee the coin for Neptune , we just crossed the equator! " WTF.. i am barley awake , she puts a coin in my hand and i stand outside in
the fresh breeze saying my prayer and pay entrance to Neptune's Kingdom. Asked him for protection and that we arrive safe and sound.
I am not a superstitious person, but when it comes to the ocean , i believe in most rituals. I need a higher force to ask for help and protection, because often our power is not enough to fix everything. So
Neptune please look after us as we venture into this mighty ocean.
He has always protected us and we have done our fare share in preparing our self's and the boat for the worst.
The worst is coming slowly: I noticed on my Fancy NKE navigation computer that we now have a big drop in sea temperature. It was only 25.8 C last night and 26.9 C this early morning , compared to 28.5 in all
of Polynesia. This gives for fresher air temperatures as well. It went down to 25 C last night. I don't know how many times i have crossed the equator but this felt cool. This morning i can download a chart
with the surface temperature of the entire Pacific Ocean. You can see it on Windy as well.
I enjoyed my lunch with 8 flying fish and spicy fried rice. Easy to pick up on deck every morning. They have lots of bones but tasty and one of them got stuck in my throat for 5 minutes.
Once in a remote anchorage in the Philippines ,Daniela got a big Mahi Mahi bone stuck. When i looked straight down her throat i was able to grab it with extra long needle nose pliers...oooof
Sailfish bones are tiny...i ll have some more today. I d prefer calamari , but none so far.
we got our first telefone call today .My Swiss friends Dani and Rita the sailors in Hiva Oa talked to us about weather and more ..thank you
Comments
Vessel Name: YELO
Vessel Make/Model: CATANA 431
Hailing Port: LANGKAWI
Crew: ROLF & DANIELA
YELO's Photos - Main
First sunny and hot, then the fog moves in and the boat gets all wet. You feel the light drizzle
16 Photos
Created 20 March 2023